Shrimp Egg Foo Yung Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Very good. I'd rather have a thicker richer gravy. I need to find another gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This "Shrimp Egg Foo Yung" recipe is a definite keeper! Yummy, yum, yum! I often have bean sprouts in the fridge (leftover from another recipe) that I have no idea what to do with. Never again! I was attracted to this recipe because the recipe description said I could freeze it. I used fresh button mushrooms (not caned). I divided the egg mixture among 6 mini-quiche dishes and baked it at 350 for 45 minutes because I wanted to freeze it in the cooled quiche dishes (which have lids for the freezer). By chance, this recipe had a very attractive presentation when prepared this way ("uniform pancake-like circular patties" - not browned though). I loosened the egg mixture from the quiche dishes while it was still hot because I wanted to be able to remove it easily after freezing. The defrosted "patties" reheated in my toaster oven tasted good; however, I can gobble these up quickly, so I am not likely to ever freeze them again. I had made a very delicious homemade chicken stock to make the "chicken-broth sauce" with (which I had planed to thicken with cashew nut flour because I don't eat cornstarch); however, I decided I really enjoyed the way this "Shrimp Egg Foo Yung" tasted without the sauce (which was more convenient for reheating from the freezer anyway, especially in single portions). I repurposed the chicken stock. I will definitely make the base of this recipe (no "chicken-broth sauce") again and again. Thank you Kimber for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I cut the recipe in half and it did not work. the eggs shrimp and bean sprouts looked like I was trying to make an omlet instead of the patties. The gravy wasn't good either. Please do a video on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lonnie Wright
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lonnie Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Better than any restaurant. Sauce needs work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
It was the best.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetdee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I did love it, and my hubby enjoyed it a lot! Next time I will add cornstarch to the eggs also, but this is my bad. Pretty easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I loved this recipe! It was my first attempt at making egg foo young and was very easy to follow. I didn't use the mushrooms because my husband doesn't like them. I try not to use salt, so I cut that out as well. I didn't have the bean sprouts or white pepper but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Thank you for this exceptionally easy and flavorful Egg Fu Yung recipe! I made a few simple changes-- since I didn't have bean sprouts, I used celery and green pepper chopped very fine, and teriyaki sauce instead of soy sauce. This is as good as any I gotten in a restaurant, if not better, and now I can make it at home! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
brown gravy dry mix is a good substitute for the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leftoverQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States