Shrimp Egg Foo Yung Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lonnie Wright
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lonnie Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This "Shrimp Egg Foo Yung" recipe is a definite keeper! Yummy, yum, yum! I often have bean sprouts in the fridge (leftover from another recipe) that I have no idea what to do with. Never again! I was attracted to this recipe because the recipe description said I could freeze it. I used fresh button mushrooms (not caned). I divided the egg mixture among 6 mini-quiche dishes and baked it at 350 for 45 minutes because I wanted to freeze it in the cooled quiche dishes (which have lids for the freezer). By chance, this recipe had a very attractive presentation when prepared this way ("uniform pancake-like circular patties" - not browned though). I loosened the egg mixture from the quiche dishes while it was still hot because I wanted to be able to remove it easily after freezing. The defrosted "patties" reheated in my toaster oven tasted good; however, I can gobble these up quickly, so I am not likely to ever freeze them again. I had made a very delicious homemade chicken stock to make the "chicken-broth sauce" with (which I had planed to thicken with cashew nut flour because I don't eat cornstarch); however, I decided I really enjoyed the way this "Shrimp Egg Foo Yung" tasted without the sauce (which was more convenient for reheating from the freezer anyway, especially in single portions). I repurposed the chicken stock. I will definitely make the base of this recipe (no "chicken-broth sauce") again and again. Thank you Kimber for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Better than any restaurant. Sauce needs work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
It was the best.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetdee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I did love it, and my hubby enjoyed it a lot! Next time I will add cornstarch to the eggs also, but this is my bad. Pretty easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I loved this recipe! It was my first attempt at making egg foo young and was very easy to follow. I didn't use the mushrooms because my husband doesn't like them. I try not to use salt, so I cut that out as well. I didn't have the bean sprouts or white pepper but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Thank you for this exceptionally easy and flavorful Egg Fu Yung recipe! I made a few simple changes-- since I didn't have bean sprouts, I used celery and green pepper chopped very fine, and teriyaki sauce instead of soy sauce. This is as good as any I gotten in a restaurant, if not better, and now I can make it at home! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
brown gravy dry mix is a good substitute for the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leftoverQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
My husband and I loved this recipe! I added starch to the mixture as suggested by others and used egg whites in place of the eggs. I will be making this dish again and again. Great job!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I think this recipe is good when you have alot of bean sprouts. Alot of other recipes call for half the bean sprouts of this one but add other veggies. I liked the egg pancakes. What I didn't care for was the sauce. It was too vinegary and not sweet and salty enough to satiate the desire for egg foo yung I have made in the past. In the future, I will make your egg pancakes but use another sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States