Shrimp Egg Foo Young Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
My wife and I were pleasantly surprised to find one of our favorite foods in such an easy recipe. For our own taste, we will use less vinegar & sugar in the gravy next time. Thanks Karen, for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Yum. I had an excess of oil on my patties, (I used to much olive oil). Paper towels to the rescue. My patties were a little all over the place, possibly more egg next time? They do form after you work the spatula around them. I did not have cornstarch so used flour not same constituency but worked. I left out the sugar and vinegar and added sliced ginger and sesame oil to simmer with sauce. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Light egg foo young. I did miss the ginger and real garlic, however. Next time. But I used fresh shrimp instead of cooked...delicious! Will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Very good, the gravy needs a little something but all in all a good recipe. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Shamasko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I was so scared and in the end this is one of the easiest recipes I've ever made, the family loved it, very delicious!! I even left out the shrimp. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Impressive. Fast, thrifty & delicious. Read reviews & recommend 1/2 vinegar & sugar, double cornstarch, tbsp sesame oil in sauce. Family wanted me to get up & make more b4 the 1st servings were eaten. I expected the cornstarchy, chickeny blah taste of many sauce recipes that my family passes up (including at restaurants) but this was excellent, rich & tasty. We'll never order this at a restaurant again as this version is so delicious, inexpensive to make & fast! Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
OMG! This was so quick to make and with my own version ( experimenting) it is to die for!! As a Baltimorean raised on this dish (Chinese carry-outs on every street corner)I am used to brown gravy over the patties. I used this recipe but... I used 5 eggs, and after frying the patties smothered them in brown gravy. I topped the white rice with the gravy covered patty and drizzled soy sauce over it. I cooked my shrimp (no little salad shrimp for me) Maryland style using 1/4 cup beer, Old Bay Seasoning, 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar, and I/4 cup water. Every bite was delicious !!! Compliment the meal with Plum wine and enjoy1 Bon appetite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed this. I had leftover shrimp that I cut into pieces. I used about 6 oz. of sprouts and an extra egg. I also cut the sugar and vinegar by half and added about 1 t. sesame oil to the sauce. It was excellent - much lighter than the egg foo young from our Chinese take out. Thanks for the recipe - I would def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Smith Kubaska

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This recipe is better than my local Chinese takeout. I did use diced chicken, beat 5 eggs instead of 4, added a whole can of drained LaChoy chinese vegetables along with the green onions and garlic powder. I found non-stick mini-skillets (the type to fry one egg) to make the patties perfectly round and all one size. I made the sauce as written the first time and did not like the vinegar addition, so omitted it the second time, used less sugar and it was excellent. Couldn't get a thick consistency with the cornstarch, so added more than written. Making again for dinner tonite. Great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Easy, fast delicious. I had fresh mixed sprouts and pre-cooked shrimp. The perfect recipe for an easy delicous meal. I didn't change anything except added more cornstarch to make the sauce a little thicker. The dish is mild so it allows the fresh taste of the sprouts to come through. I'll definitely make it again. (Make your own sprouts. It is easy and nutricious.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States