Shrimp Egg Foo Young Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I worked for a Chinese family in their restaurant while I was a young adult and this comes close to their popular recipe. I used fresh bean sprouts instead of canned, and defrosted salad-size shrimp in a salad spinner to ensure that all excess liquid was gone. I used a vietnamese soup stock (pho) concentrate instead of chicken broth which added additional flavor to the sauce. I love to eat egg foo young for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Parrino Byxbe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This turned out really good, I was not real crazy about the sauce, so next time will make that different, but the Egg Foo Young it's self was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
The patties had good flavor, but the sauce, with the addition of vinegar made it sour and ruined it. I ended up using a chicken gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
My wife and I were pleasantly surprised to find one of our favorite foods in such an easy recipe. For our own taste, we will use less vinegar & sugar in the gravy next time. Thanks Karen, for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I was so scared and in the end this is one of the easiest recipes I've ever made, the family loved it, very delicious!! I even left out the shrimp. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Light egg foo young. I did miss the ginger and real garlic, however. Next time. But I used fresh shrimp instead of cooked...delicious! Will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Very good, the gravy needs a little something but all in all a good recipe. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Shamasko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed this. I had leftover shrimp that I cut into pieces. I used about 6 oz. of sprouts and an extra egg. I also cut the sugar and vinegar by half and added about 1 t. sesame oil to the sauce. It was excellent - much lighter than the egg foo young from our Chinese take out. Thanks for the recipe - I would def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Smith Kubaska

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This recipe is better than my local Chinese takeout. I did use diced chicken, beat 5 eggs instead of 4, added a whole can of drained LaChoy chinese vegetables along with the green onions and garlic powder. I found non-stick mini-skillets (the type to fry one egg) to make the patties perfectly round and all one size. I made the sauce as written the first time and did not like the vinegar addition, so omitted it the second time, used less sugar and it was excellent. Couldn't get a thick consistency with the cornstarch, so added more than written. Making again for dinner tonite. Great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Easy, fast delicious. I had fresh mixed sprouts and pre-cooked shrimp. The perfect recipe for an easy delicous meal. I didn't change anything except added more cornstarch to make the sauce a little thicker. The dish is mild so it allows the fresh taste of the sprouts to come through. I'll definitely make it again. (Make your own sprouts. It is easy and nutricious.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States