Shrimp Durango Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This was good, but it needed something else, like many other reviewers I would agree it needs garlic, and lots of it. I used white grape juice instead of wine and it worked surprisingly well. Overall this dish was tasty, easy to make, and very pretty. The cilantro in it worked really well with the light sauce. I'll make again but with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This was an interesting dish - very light flavors of lime and cilantro. I think next time I might use one shot of tequila instead of the white wine. I also added 2 cloves of garlic per earlier reviews. I honeslty think the tequila would make a huge difference. I wil have to try that and re-review. UPDATE: So I added two garlic cloves, one small yellow onion, upped the wine to 1/3 c. and the cayenne to 1/4 tsp. I also used the juice of two limes. THIS WAS SOOOOOOOO good! I am increasing my score of the recipe from 3 to 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLONDIENEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Lack of taste!!!! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci's Kitchen
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I loved it!... Exactly what I was craving!... All the flavors blended perfectly! Zesty lime, buttery/wine, spicy cayenne, fresh cilantro!... Yum! I added 2 cloves of minced garlic to it and a whole cube of butter in the sauce; good thing because it would have been too dry without it! Note to self: used 3/4 cup chicken broth instead of wine, dash of olive oil, 1/2 cube butter, garlic powder, salt, then let simmer. Add raw shrimp(XL) (season shrimp set out for 30 mintes) in immering ssauce until cooked. Add cooked pasta to sauce sprinkle all with a little cayenne and mix in more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I had to make some adjustments because of what I had on hand. First of all I didn't have cilantro so I added dried parsley & sage, I used lemon juice instead of lime, and added a pinch more cayenne pepper. I also followed others suggestions to saute some onion & garlic. I increased the liquids to make it saucier to accommodate for so much noodles but once I follow the recipe I don't measure any of the additional ingredients but I probably used close to a cup of white wine & 3 tbsp of lemon juice. Even with my modifications it was really good and I look forward to trying this again with cilantro. One last thing- I used precooked shrimp and next time I will just toss them in with the pasta & let it all sit for a few minutes to heat the shrimp through. Cooking them separately resulted in overcooked shrimp but that was pretty much my own fault. A+ recipe and fast! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaines, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This recipe was really good. I added minced onion and garlic and used red pepper flakes since I didn't have any cayenne pepper. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Good basic recipe, doubled sauce using 2/3ds ex. virgin olive oil 1/3 light smart balance w/ 1 cup white wine & full bunch of cilantro. Added onions, garlic, mex. saffron, chipotle, outerbridges sherry pepper sauce, & crushed red chilies. Yes, we like it spicey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was an easy recipe, but I would suggest not using just any white wine because the sauce will come out sweet - a Sauvignon Blanc is drier wine (which I would recomend) rather than a Reisling or Chardonnay and I used lemon instead of lime.. It was a nice light pasta with a kick..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Good, but don't know if I will make it again. A very different mix of flavors, that I'm not sure were complimenting. So overall, it was okay, but not my family's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This was very good ... I added mushrooms, onions and fresh garlic ... had to triple the sauce and added far more cayenne than it called for along with crushed red pepper flakes ... we like things very spicy ... I also used fresh scallops along with the shrimp ... we'll be making this again, it was easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States