Shrimp Durango Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I've been making this recipe for over a year now, with some changes that may improve it for those who find it bland. With that said, we do like strong flavor here! I combine the butter with the juice of 3 or 4 large lemons and a third cup of white wine, then bring to a slight boil, reduce heat and simmer a good 5-10 minutes to reduce. Sometimes we throw some garlic in the mix too. I use thawed frozen shrimp for ease and toss that in and cook another three or four minutes, adding 1/2 tsp cayenne (spicy!) Then I toss in fresh spinach linguine, and coat, simmering about a minute. Remove from heat and toss in your fresh chopped cilantro (yep, I up that too, a full bunch). It's pretty powerful, but the lemon zing is lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Giving this 4 stars because I made a lot of modifications (5 stars with mods :)). I only used 1/2 pound of pasta. This just isn't enough to cover a pound. I use 1 Tbsp of butter and 2Tbsp of olive oil instead of 3 butter. Before adding the shrimp to the butter/oil, I sauteed 1/2 diced onion, 1/2 diced red bell pepper and 2 minced cloves of garlic. I also added some oregano and increased the cayenne. This was a quick and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I loved it!... Exactly what I was craving!... All the flavors blended perfectly! Zesty lime, buttery/wine, spicy cayenne, fresh cilantro!... Yum! I added 2 cloves of minced garlic to it and a whole cube of butter in the sauce; good thing because it would have been too dry without it! Note to self: used 3/4 cup chicken broth instead of wine, dash of olive oil, 1/2 cube butter, garlic powder, salt, then let simmer. Add raw shrimp(XL) (season shrimp set out for 30 mintes) in immering ssauce until cooked. Add cooked pasta to sauce sprinkle all with a little cayenne and mix in more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This was an interesting dish - very light flavors of lime and cilantro. I think next time I might use one shot of tequila instead of the white wine. I also added 2 cloves of garlic per earlier reviews. I honeslty think the tequila would make a huge difference. I wil have to try that and re-review. UPDATE: So I added two garlic cloves, one small yellow onion, upped the wine to 1/3 c. and the cayenne to 1/4 tsp. I also used the juice of two limes. THIS WAS SOOOOOOOO good! I am increasing my score of the recipe from 3 to 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLONDIENEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
The first thing I said was "Tastes like Mexico"! We vacation in Cancun, and this reminds me of some of the fresh, light, and yummy seafood dishes we've had there. I used 3T of lemon juice, 1 garlic clove, and 3/4c wine. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
This was a very tasty way to use shrimp. I served mine over spinach fettucine instead of regular fettucine. The dish had a nice bite, from the cayenne pepper, but think it needed another ingredient. I added a little parmesan at the table and that seemed to get a little closer. Maybe some grilled vegetables? Anyway, this is a good recipe and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
You just can't beat these ingredients... cilantro, lime, white wine, and cayenne... unless you use a little more of each of them. We thought the recipe came out just a tad bland. More spunk! More flavor! Maybe a little more salt and pepper would help. But this was a treat - thanks to Bill for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
really good, however i am going to add garlic next time, i like adding garlic to everything though, also cut the ammount of pasta in half, waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay tooo much pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
My family thought it was delicious, even my 5 year old. I added some finely chopped green onions and a little of Emerill's Essence to kick it up a bit. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLSAY1969

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
This is a grear recipe!!!!!!! try it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States