Shrimp Durango Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Made as written. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
We've been making this recipe for a number of years, love it just the way it is. So much flavor with so few ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I thought this was going to be a slight deviation from Scampi, boy was I wrong, this is totally different. The flavors compliment each other perfectly. This is fantastic! This will be a regular in our house. Thanks Bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill528

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Yummy !! In a hurry I combined the lime juice, wine and 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper but I think it turned out well because the sauce sat for 1 hour. I then sauteed the shrimp in a hot skillet with about 1 tbsp of olive oil and 1 tbsp butter for about 2 min. then removed the shrimp and added the sauce to the pan and boiled for 2 min to reduce it .. added the shrimp and cilantro and tossed for another 1 or 2 minutes. I served it with a side dish of bulgar wheat in place of the pasta and it went well together. You don't need as much sauce without the pasta and the reduced fat makes it healthier. Think I will try it with quinoa next time... Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This was great... I only made a few changes. I added muschrooms and substituted the cilantro for fresh basil. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Looking at the most "helpful" reviews I was tempted to sub lemon juice for lime and add a bunch of garlic. But then I thought, that's Shrimp Scampi. I made this as written and absolutely loved it. Glad I didn't listen to the helpful reviews. I did double the sauce for a pound of pasta. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by key151

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pardeeville, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Instead of butter, I used olive oil and I left out the cilantro as I am not fond of it. I also didn't make the pasta, but I would imagine that you would need to make more sauce to cover the pasta as there wasn't a lot left in the pan after cooking. The flavors blended well together. Fairly simple, which allowed the shrimp to shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ash
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This turned out really well, with of course a few modifications. I used margarine instead of butter to lower the fat, I used a pinot grigio wine, and I added a splash of lemon juice to the sauce as well. Furthermore, I cooked the shrimp with garlic beforehand and then seasoned the shrimp and sauce with red pepper flakes, salt and pepper (and more garlic). I left out the cilantro because my fiance hates it. It was spicy and not very saucy, which is great for us because that's how we like our pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. However, I thought it was missing just one ingredient - garlic! I added one large clove of garlic, minced, when I added the shrimp. I used only 1/4 tsp. salt and 1/16 tsp. cayenne (I know, I know, we're wimps), and it was just perfect for us. Next time I would probably serve it over rice since the fettucine was so slippery and hard to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States