Shrimp Creole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Excellent recipe, I made a few changes just to suite my taste. I used chicken broth instead of water to make the shrimp stock and I used Rotel (pureed) instead of fresh tomatoes. Very tasty!!!!!!!!!!!!! Even my picky 9 year old enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Hooyah!! I was surprised how good this was. I pretty much followed the recipe to the letter, although I may have been a little heavy handed when the hot sauce bottle was tipped up, plus I added more shrimp. Very rich tasting, in part I'm sure because of the stock. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This is excellent!! I only had 1 lb of shrimp so I used 2 lbs chicken breast. I made 1/2 cup seafood stock and used 1-1/2 c canned chicken broth. I didn't use fresh tomatoes, only 2 cans (15oz) diced tomatoes and 2 small cans 8 oz (since the recipe doesn't state the size)and a bag of frozen okra. The flavor is wonderful. I looove shrimp but my husband hates it. He thought it was really good (I gave him just chicken).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This was really, really good. Perfect level of spice. I bought shrimp that were all ready peeled and deveined, but I still wanted the benefits of the homemade stock, so I simmered the tails in the same amount of chicken stock for about a half hour. I'm not sure if it was the same, but it sure was good. I didn't have bacon, so I sauteed everything in butter and added a couple of dashes of smoked paprika. Served this over texmati rice. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Very good. I did have to substitute red bell pepper for the green as none in the frige. I also sauteed the veges in olive oil as I did not have any bacon. I am sure that the bacon would have added some smokiness so next time. I cut the cayenne in half since my husband and I don't like really hot food- we like spicey but not hot and it was just right. It did take a while with the cleaning of the shrimp and making the broth- I did this the night before, but if you are short on time I would suggest buying your shrimp already cleaned and deveined and there are some good fish stocks available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Excellent recipe. I have made it twice and give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
VERY GOOD! I DID OF COURSE, MAKE A FEW MINOR ADJUSTMENTS. INSTEAD OF TOMATO SAUCE AND 4 TOMATOES, I USED 1 LARGE CAN OF DICED TOMATOES AND 1 6OZ CAN OF TOMATOE PASTE. ALSO, WHEN SAUTEEING THE ONIONS, GARLIC, CELERY ETC, I ADDED A CUT OKRA. LASTLY I ADDED SAUSAGE TO HAVE A MORE MEAT VARIETY. OVERALL A GREAT RECIPE. WILL MAKE AGAIN AND AGAIN, I'M SURE! THANKS FOR THE RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotGyrl1277

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
My dude thought this was delicious. So did I. We had fresh prawns and I decided to try something new. It was pretty easy to make and didn't take too long. Delicious with a bowl of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is a very tasty recipe, although a little too spicy for me. I only made two changes to the recipe. I used a 14.5 oz can of chopped tomatoes, rather than fresh tomatoes, and used vegetable shortening rather than bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTON SCOTT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I am sorry...but for the amount of work it took ( roughly 2 hrs ) to make it, somehow, something was lacking. I cannot explain what exactly is lacking....but there is an underlying ` blandness ` to the whole recipe, despite the amount of spices and salt I put into it. I am knowledgeable of other types of cuisines, that usually use a lot of spices with their food, to create the flavour...such as Indian and Latin American ethnic dishes. I will try the recipe again and possibly re-rate the recipe, but this time, maybe I will use a richer tomato sauce and add something else to the shrimp stock to give it that boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sza Sza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States