Shrimp Creole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
very good creole dish...On the firey side..Will cut down on the tobassco next time and prehaps add alittle citrus ,,,my major question is would I make it again ( DARN STRAIT I WOULD !!!!) Went to a seminar in new orleans..and this was every bit of good as I got in resteraunts down there Now I have to find a desent "PO BOY" recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I loved this recipe,BUT I added extra stock and added a filet of cod(almost a pound) some bay scallops,and fresh crab( NOT imitation)...I also added a can of stewed tomatoes w/onion and bell pepper...delicious recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West, Texas, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Delicious! Take the time to make the stock from the shrimp shells, you won't regret it. I cut back on the spices so the children would eat it...they loved it. One note-when served over rice, it seemed to make it bland, maybe that was some of the issues with the previous reviews? I used canned fire-roasted tomatoes because of the season, and did not have any bacon, so used smoked paprika per another review. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Very tasty. I cut the recipe in half and found that the servings are extremely generous (it was more like 4 or 5 servings rather than 3). Added a bit of hot Italian sausage about 1 minute after the onion/celery/etc. Like others, I used a can of diced tomatoes rather than fresh. I found that I had to let it simmer uncovered for ~15mins to get it to reduce to a good consistency but that is likely because I didn't drain the canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRTW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This was REALLY good!! I had to adjust according to ingredients I had on hand, like using chicken stock instead of shrimp because I had bought the peeled and deveined shrimp, a few T's of EVOO instead of the bacon grease, and I had to omit the basil and green onions because I didn't have them either, lol. Oh, and I also cut the black pepper down to 1t. I can't imagine this recipe being any better than it was when I was done! The best shrimp creole recipe I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Isle, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This is RIDICULOUSLY good. It looks like a lot of work but really isn't. And is sooo worth it. There's a lot of cooking time where you can do other stuff inbetween. I did not put it on the rice as in the picture, but just ate it as a soup. I bet the rice would cut down the spice. I like spice, but there is a lot in this! When I give it to my boyfriend I'm sure he'll complain there's not enough ;) I *mostly* followed the recipe to a "t"...uhm, the shrimp I bought came peeled already so I had no shells to save...so I just cut up a couple shrimp and stuck them in instead. I also didn't feel like making bacon for the bacon grease, so I put it cooking oil and some liquid smoke. Smelled AWESOME, and definitely tastes good. I would probably put more in next time (I kinda eyeballed it, so, I maybe put in 1.5 tsp?) I think this would also be good with chicken in it. Thanks for the recipe, definitely a keeper!! EDIT : Whoops, I forgot. I also put the shrimp in during the last 15-20 minutes of cook time and eliminated the last step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This is fantastic. I'll admit, I'm lazy and I use two cans of chicken broth. But otherwise I follow it exactly and it's AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was great!! I had black tiger shrimps that had already been peeled, so I used the tails for the stock and added a little bit of chicken bouillion powder at the end, it made a really tasty stock. I omitted the cayenne and tobasco for my 5 year olds portion and he gobbled it up and for the adults I reduced the cayenne by half, added a perfect amount of heat. I would definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
this dish was delicious, my family loved it, and it wasnt hard at all....thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I didn't love it, but I liked it, but I don't think it's worth the time for me for just liking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States