Shrimp Creole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by emma
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I thought my mom took her creole recipe to the grave, but this is near perfect to hers..thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This had great flavor and was easier than I ever imagined. I added 2 teaspoons salt and 2 teaspoons Tabasco. Also, I messed up and added the green onions in with the other onions, but it was good. I used a vegetarian bouillon cube instead of making the shrimp stock. I would make again! We're thinking of serving this over linguine, orzo or risotto next time instead of rice. *I did not use bacon fat. I substituted olive oil. We used the leftover over linguine and baked it with feta cheese and mozzarella. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This was really, really good. Perfect level of spice. I bought shrimp that were all ready peeled and deveined, but I still wanted the benefits of the homemade stock, so I simmered the tails in the same amount of chicken stock for about a half hour. I'm not sure if it was the same, but it sure was good. I didn't have bacon, so I sauteed everything in butter and added a couple of dashes of smoked paprika. Served this over texmati rice. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Good stuff!! I only had 2 lbs of tiger shrimp on hand, so sub'd 1 lb of chicken breast (cubed), adding it halfway thru the 1-hour covered simmer. Can't buy good tomatoes now, so used 2 cans (15oz) Diced Tomatoes in Sauce and 1 can (15oz) Tomato Sauce. Used 1-1/2 tsp salt. I know how much fire is in 1 tsp of cayenne, so to please the family I cut cayenne down to 1/4 tsp, Tabasco to 1/2 tsp. Still had a good ZING! Served with rice. Leftovers were even better the next day. Thanks for a great recipe, Stefanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This was absolutely delicious!! I added smoked sausage as I didn't have 3lb. of shrimp and it was really tasty! Will definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
A little too spicy for the kids but my husband really liked it. I will cut the spice down the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I was surprised how wonderful this recipe turned out. I used the creole seasoning recipe from this site (3 tbl) instead of the spices listed. Also, if you do not chop up the veggies for the stock...much easier. Unfortunately, I shared some with my friends and am having to make a HUGE pot for our monthly dinner. Thanks Stefanie this recipe ROCKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Fantastic dish! It's very spicy, which my family loves, but others should beware. I used canned chicken stock instead of making the shrimp stock and I still thought it was excellent (and much faster!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mokena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Excellent recipe. I have made it twice and give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Very good. I did have to substitute red bell pepper for the green as none in the frige. I also sauteed the veges in olive oil as I did not have any bacon. I am sure that the bacon would have added some smokiness so next time. I cut the cayenne in half since my husband and I don't like really hot food- we like spicey but not hot and it was just right. It did take a while with the cleaning of the shrimp and making the broth- I did this the night before, but if you are short on time I would suggest buying your shrimp already cleaned and deveined and there are some good fish stocks available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States