Shrimp Creole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Fantastic dish! It's very spicy, which my family loves, but others should beware. I used canned chicken stock instead of making the shrimp stock and I still thought it was excellent (and much faster!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mokena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Good stuff!! I only had 2 lbs of tiger shrimp on hand, so sub'd 1 lb of chicken breast (cubed), adding it halfway thru the 1-hour covered simmer. Can't buy good tomatoes now, so used 2 cans (15oz) Diced Tomatoes in Sauce and 1 can (15oz) Tomato Sauce. Used 1-1/2 tsp salt. I know how much fire is in 1 tsp of cayenne, so to please the family I cut cayenne down to 1/4 tsp, Tabasco to 1/2 tsp. Still had a good ZING! Served with rice. Leftovers were even better the next day. Thanks for a great recipe, Stefanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
VERY GOOD! I DID OF COURSE, MAKE A FEW MINOR ADJUSTMENTS. INSTEAD OF TOMATO SAUCE AND 4 TOMATOES, I USED 1 LARGE CAN OF DICED TOMATOES AND 1 6OZ CAN OF TOMATOE PASTE. ALSO, WHEN SAUTEEING THE ONIONS, GARLIC, CELERY ETC, I ADDED A CUT OKRA. LASTLY I ADDED SAUSAGE TO HAVE A MORE MEAT VARIETY. OVERALL A GREAT RECIPE. WILL MAKE AGAIN AND AGAIN, I'M SURE! THANKS FOR THE RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotGyrl1277

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I was surprised how wonderful this recipe turned out. I used the creole seasoning recipe from this site (3 tbl) instead of the spices listed. Also, if you do not chop up the veggies for the stock...much easier. Unfortunately, I shared some with my friends and am having to make a HUGE pot for our monthly dinner. Thanks Stefanie this recipe ROCKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emma
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I thought my mom took her creole recipe to the grave, but this is near perfect to hers..thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I am sorry...but for the amount of work it took ( roughly 2 hrs ) to make it, somehow, something was lacking. I cannot explain what exactly is lacking....but there is an underlying ` blandness ` to the whole recipe, despite the amount of spices and salt I put into it. I am knowledgeable of other types of cuisines, that usually use a lot of spices with their food, to create the flavour...such as Indian and Latin American ethnic dishes. I will try the recipe again and possibly re-rate the recipe, but this time, maybe I will use a richer tomato sauce and add something else to the shrimp stock to give it that boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sza Sza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This had great flavor and was easier than I ever imagined. I added 2 teaspoons salt and 2 teaspoons Tabasco. Also, I messed up and added the green onions in with the other onions, but it was good. I used a vegetarian bouillon cube instead of making the shrimp stock. I would make again! We're thinking of serving this over linguine, orzo or risotto next time instead of rice. *I did not use bacon fat. I substituted olive oil. We used the leftover over linguine and baked it with feta cheese and mozzarella. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Very tasty. I cut the recipe in half and found that the servings are extremely generous (it was more like 4 or 5 servings rather than 3). Added a bit of hot Italian sausage about 1 minute after the onion/celery/etc. Like others, I used a can of diced tomatoes rather than fresh. I found that I had to let it simmer uncovered for ~15mins to get it to reduce to a good consistency but that is likely because I didn't drain the canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRTW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This was REALLY good!! I had to adjust according to ingredients I had on hand, like using chicken stock instead of shrimp because I had bought the peeled and deveined shrimp, a few T's of EVOO instead of the bacon grease, and I had to omit the basil and green onions because I didn't have them either, lol. Oh, and I also cut the black pepper down to 1t. I can't imagine this recipe being any better than it was when I was done! The best shrimp creole recipe I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Isle, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
My dude thought this was delicious. So did I. We had fresh prawns and I decided to try something new. It was pretty easy to make and didn't take too long. Delicious with a bowl of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States