Shrimp Creole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Good stuff!! I only had 2 lbs of tiger shrimp on hand, so sub'd 1 lb of chicken breast (cubed), adding it halfway thru the 1-hour covered simmer. Can't buy good tomatoes now, so used 2 cans (15oz) Diced Tomatoes in Sauce and 1 can (15oz) Tomato Sauce. Used 1-1/2 tsp salt. I know how much fire is in 1 tsp of cayenne, so to please the family I cut cayenne down to 1/4 tsp, Tabasco to 1/2 tsp. Still had a good ZING! Served with rice. Leftovers were even better the next day. Thanks for a great recipe, Stefanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This was absolutely delicious!! I added smoked sausage as I didn't have 3lb. of shrimp and it was really tasty! Will definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
A little too spicy for the kids but my husband really liked it. I will cut the spice down the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I was surprised how wonderful this recipe turned out. I used the creole seasoning recipe from this site (3 tbl) instead of the spices listed. Also, if you do not chop up the veggies for the stock...much easier. Unfortunately, I shared some with my friends and am having to make a HUGE pot for our monthly dinner. Thanks Stefanie this recipe ROCKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Fantastic dish! It's very spicy, which my family loves, but others should beware. I used canned chicken stock instead of making the shrimp stock and I still thought it was excellent (and much faster!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mokena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emma
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I thought my mom took her creole recipe to the grave, but this is near perfect to hers..thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This had great flavor and was easier than I ever imagined. I added 2 teaspoons salt and 2 teaspoons Tabasco. Also, I messed up and added the green onions in with the other onions, but it was good. I used a vegetarian bouillon cube instead of making the shrimp stock. I would make again! We're thinking of serving this over linguine, orzo or risotto next time instead of rice. *I did not use bacon fat. I substituted olive oil. We used the leftover over linguine and baked it with feta cheese and mozzarella. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I am sorry...but for the amount of work it took ( roughly 2 hrs ) to make it, somehow, something was lacking. I cannot explain what exactly is lacking....but there is an underlying ` blandness ` to the whole recipe, despite the amount of spices and salt I put into it. I am knowledgeable of other types of cuisines, that usually use a lot of spices with their food, to create the flavour...such as Indian and Latin American ethnic dishes. I will try the recipe again and possibly re-rate the recipe, but this time, maybe I will use a richer tomato sauce and add something else to the shrimp stock to give it that boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sza Sza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is a very tasty recipe, although a little too spicy for me. I only made two changes to the recipe. I used a 14.5 oz can of chopped tomatoes, rather than fresh tomatoes, and used vegetable shortening rather than bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTON SCOTT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
My dude thought this was delicious. So did I. We had fresh prawns and I decided to try something new. It was pretty easy to make and didn't take too long. Delicious with a bowl of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States