Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Though the end result of this recipe seems like something closer to potato soup than a seafood soup, it's an excellent recipe nonetheless. I doubled the recipe and still didn't seem to have a very good volume of soup. Melting the cream cheese on low takes a LONG time, but I suppose the low temperature is necessary so the cheese doesn't ball up and melts thoroughly. I added a little extra milk so the soup would "go further." I also added some white pepper when I added the salt. Next time, I may use more shrimp. There wasn't really enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Average. Nothing to write home about. I had to add a lot of ingredients to make it more flavoursome. Small sprinkle chilli powder, can of corn, three teaspoons of powdered chicken flavouring, herbs, vegetable salt and only then it was sort of okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This is great! Not hard to make either. I added sliced asparagus to the onions and celery, hot sauce towards the end and more white wine. Everyone enjoyed it, will definitely make again. Doubled the recipe and it made plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
this was a very good chowder. i added alittle more white wine about 2 tbsp. more and 1/4 cup half and half. i also used 1 four ounce can of bumblebee tiny select shrimp chopped,and drained instead of the 1/2 pound of shrimp.this was perfect, a taste of shrimp without the fishy smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Very tasty! I also added a can of corn and it was great - I don't think I'd ever make it without. Also added a couple of drops of hot sauce, parsley, and a bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
The whole family loved this chowder! Great flavor and texture, and I went by the (doubled) recipe except that I substituted butter for the margarine. It's high on the family's request list. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Monroe, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Wonderful!!! I used O'Brien potatoes and corn as recommended and a bit of crushed red pepper. Delicious and very hearty with crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Modified this recipe alot using all the past reviews and my family really liked. Don't know how it would be in it's original format. Like most people I used O'Brien potatoes, 1 can of corn, old bay seas. I also used neufchatel cheese instead of crm cheese and only used half of the recommended amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Excellent recipe for shrimp! I did make a few modifications: added Old Bay Seasoning, a small can of corn, and garlic. It was a big hit on Christmas Eve and will make again for New Year's Eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Fabulous! Easy to make, ready in less than an hour and delicious. We used a pound of shrimp & potoatoes O'Brien, added corn and Old Bay- and next time will double it so we have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States