Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
There is not alot of flavor in this soup. I made it according to the directions, then added everything that others had recommended and still wasn't satisfied. Would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This is a very good recipe. I followed some others advice and added garlic to the sauted onions and celery. I also used one pound of shrimp instead of 1/2 lb. I cooked the potatoes ahead of time, which is a must. I also added about 1/2 cup of chicken broth, since I had more shrimp. Finally, I added 1 T. of Old Bay Seasoning, which really made the dish. If you do nothing else, still add Old Bay! Oh yea, I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese (microwaved it 30 seconds to soften) and it still tasted great. It's great served with bread for dunking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I added grilled sausage and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Very creamy! Took the advice and added the potatoes with the onion and celery. Next time I'll saute on low, I burnt the bottom of the pot. I also microwaved the room temperature cream cheese for a minute on half power and it blended very easily! And I added cinnamon at the end - yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I had some problems with this recipe...waiting for the potatoes to cook was horrible. I kept worrying about burning the milk which by the way, I had to add about a cup more of it. I must have had some extra thick cream cheese or something because it looked more like a sauce then a chowder without the extra milk. Definately boil the potatoes first and be ready to add a lot more spices because it will be very bland without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
family loved it.. i added scallops also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Bodai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This recipe was very good! We added a half a cup of milk only. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
good base, would use it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I made this soup last night and can I tell all of you just how truly fast a delicious it was!!!!! I will tell you my changes. First I did not have any celery so instead I sauted the potatoes with the onion because they will cook faster. then I added the block of cream cheese and 2 cups of milk and gently melted down the cream cheese. Then I added one defrosted shrimp ring (tails removed) and 1 can of baby clams with half the juice a little salt and lots of pepper. It made 4 hearty bowls for my husband and I. I will be making this for some friends on the weekend, totally satisfied with this chowder...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Very tasty, very filling! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States