Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This recipe is AMAZING! I was always threatened by the daunting task of making chowders as I have heard numerous times that it was tough to master a good chowder. Anyway, I found this recipe to be : - Very flavourful - Very colourful ( the celery leaves and stalks make a good contrast to the pink in the shrimp, against the white creamy sauce ) - Very easy to make! However, I did change some few things to suit it to my taste: - I did not add the entire package of cream cheese. I thought it was too much to do that. I added a bit more milk though. - Instead of the cream cheese, I added 2 low-heaped tablespoons of sifted flour, as I was stirring the soup. This thickened up the chowder quite quickly without the fat that you find in the cream cheese. - I also added a sage, thyme, dill dry herb mix ( around 3/4 tsps ) to give it that underlying flavour that goes so well with seafood chowders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sza Sza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This soup was wonderful! We cooked the potatoes before adding to the soup. We added the Old Bay sesoning. It was perfect. My family loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
There is not alot of flavor in this soup. I made it according to the directions, then added everything that others had recommended and still wasn't satisfied. Would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This is a very good recipe. I followed some others advice and added garlic to the sauted onions and celery. I also used one pound of shrimp instead of 1/2 lb. I cooked the potatoes ahead of time, which is a must. I also added about 1/2 cup of chicken broth, since I had more shrimp. Finally, I added 1 T. of Old Bay Seasoning, which really made the dish. If you do nothing else, still add Old Bay! Oh yea, I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese (microwaved it 30 seconds to soften) and it still tasted great. It's great served with bread for dunking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I added grilled sausage and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Very creamy! Took the advice and added the potatoes with the onion and celery. Next time I'll saute on low, I burnt the bottom of the pot. I also microwaved the room temperature cream cheese for a minute on half power and it blended very easily! And I added cinnamon at the end - yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I had some problems with this recipe...waiting for the potatoes to cook was horrible. I kept worrying about burning the milk which by the way, I had to add about a cup more of it. I must have had some extra thick cream cheese or something because it looked more like a sauce then a chowder without the extra milk. Definately boil the potatoes first and be ready to add a lot more spices because it will be very bland without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
family loved it.. i added scallops also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Bodai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This recipe was very good! We added a half a cup of milk only. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
good base, would use it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States