Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
My family liked it, but not I.For me there was the cream cheese that got in the way.To much. Tasted funny. I will try one more time but only will use a 1/4 of it instead of the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This was excellent! I did however tweak it a bit. I made my own shrimp stock with the legs, shells, and onion. Then I just did the recipe the way it was written. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This was absolutely delish although i changed around the recipe a bit. Mostly because half way through cooking i realized i didn't even have milk or celery. I used close to a pound of thawed salad shrimp, substituted a can of cream of celery soup (+ a can of water) for the milk. Only about a half cup of very small cubed potato's (i don't really care for them) Also, i added a little extra white wine, substituted creole seasoning for salt and added a little extra, and added some celery seed and cayenne pepper. Oh, and i sautee'd maybe 1/8th cup of home garden banana pepper since i didnt have any celery. Everything turned out great and tasted great but next time i'd like to actually have milk and celery, as the soup substitute made it just a tad thicker then it should be and it made more soup because i used water to thin it out. Either way i highly recommend this recipe, take some liberty with it, add what you like as long as your still sticking to it for the most part, and it will taste great! I'd like to use the same base for a crab soup some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Absolutely wonderful *as is* and we'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This was simply delicious! I added more milk because it was really too thick. I poured this over angel hair pasta w/ hushpuppies on the side. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlecajunhoney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by docswife
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Great shrimp chowder! I did double the recipe, for the 5 of us. I added some minced garlic, cayenne pepper and some Old Bay. I cooked the potatoes in chicken stock and used about a cup of liquid to thin the chowder a tad. Served in Italian Bread Bowls from this site. Will add to my recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I made this with less cream cheese than the recipe calls for but it still turned out Great. Looked really good too... I love for food to look as good as it tastes. I think next time I'll try some cream of celery soup in it as another reviewer did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I read all the reviews on this chowder and then combined the suggestions as follows (I doubled the recipe BTW): Precooked the potatoes in 2 cans of chicken broth and reserved the cooking liquid, Added 1 Tbsp. minced garlic and 2 Tbsp. of dried parsley flakes when I sauted the celery after omitting the onions (picky eaters), warmed up the cream cheese in micro in order to speed up the melting in the soup pot, added a few drops of Tabasco sauce and a bay leaf, added 2 cups slightly defrosted frozen whole kernel corn with shrimp and omitted the wine. After adding the shrimp, corn, salt and pepper; the chowder was a little too thick so I added 2 cups of the reserved chicken broth from the potatoes. Next time I'll add a half cup at a time until the desired thickness is reached; it ended just a little too thin for my tastes. Anyway, after alll these changes my family was happily surprised with this dish. Don't know if I'll make it again though:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I mashed the cooked potatoes slightly and added a little more wine--a very good recipe and very delicious-I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese and you couldn't tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
very bland even added old bay and pinch of cayenne pepper had to add another cup of milk or it would have been like a paste will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States