Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This was absolutely delish although i changed around the recipe a bit. Mostly because half way through cooking i realized i didn't even have milk or celery. I used close to a pound of thawed salad shrimp, substituted a can of cream of celery soup (+ a can of water) for the milk. Only about a half cup of very small cubed potato's (i don't really care for them) Also, i added a little extra white wine, substituted creole seasoning for salt and added a little extra, and added some celery seed and cayenne pepper. Oh, and i sautee'd maybe 1/8th cup of home garden banana pepper since i didnt have any celery. Everything turned out great and tasted great but next time i'd like to actually have milk and celery, as the soup substitute made it just a tad thicker then it should be and it made more soup because i used water to thin it out. Either way i highly recommend this recipe, take some liberty with it, add what you like as long as your still sticking to it for the most part, and it will taste great! I'd like to use the same base for a crab soup some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Absolutely wonderful *as is* and we'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This was simply delicious! I added more milk because it was really too thick. I poured this over angel hair pasta w/ hushpuppies on the side. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlecajunhoney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by docswife
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Great shrimp chowder! I did double the recipe, for the 5 of us. I added some minced garlic, cayenne pepper and some Old Bay. I cooked the potatoes in chicken stock and used about a cup of liquid to thin the chowder a tad. Served in Italian Bread Bowls from this site. Will add to my recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I made this with less cream cheese than the recipe calls for but it still turned out Great. Looked really good too... I love for food to look as good as it tastes. I think next time I'll try some cream of celery soup in it as another reviewer did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I read all the reviews on this chowder and then combined the suggestions as follows (I doubled the recipe BTW): Precooked the potatoes in 2 cans of chicken broth and reserved the cooking liquid, Added 1 Tbsp. minced garlic and 2 Tbsp. of dried parsley flakes when I sauted the celery after omitting the onions (picky eaters), warmed up the cream cheese in micro in order to speed up the melting in the soup pot, added a few drops of Tabasco sauce and a bay leaf, added 2 cups slightly defrosted frozen whole kernel corn with shrimp and omitted the wine. After adding the shrimp, corn, salt and pepper; the chowder was a little too thick so I added 2 cups of the reserved chicken broth from the potatoes. Next time I'll add a half cup at a time until the desired thickness is reached; it ended just a little too thin for my tastes. Anyway, after alll these changes my family was happily surprised with this dish. Don't know if I'll make it again though:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I mashed the cooked potatoes slightly and added a little more wine--a very good recipe and very delicious-I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese and you couldn't tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
very bland even added old bay and pinch of cayenne pepper had to add another cup of milk or it would have been like a paste will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This recipe is AMAZING! I was always threatened by the daunting task of making chowders as I have heard numerous times that it was tough to master a good chowder. Anyway, I found this recipe to be : - Very flavourful - Very colourful ( the celery leaves and stalks make a good contrast to the pink in the shrimp, against the white creamy sauce ) - Very easy to make! However, I did change some few things to suit it to my taste: - I did not add the entire package of cream cheese. I thought it was too much to do that. I added a bit more milk though. - Instead of the cream cheese, I added 2 low-heaped tablespoons of sifted flour, as I was stirring the soup. This thickened up the chowder quite quickly without the fat that you find in the cream cheese. - I also added a sage, thyme, dill dry herb mix ( around 3/4 tsps ) to give it that underlying flavour that goes so well with seafood chowders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sza Sza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This soup was wonderful! We cooked the potatoes before adding to the soup. We added the Old Bay sesoning. It was perfect. My family loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States