Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Thought this soup was a nice change to my recipe for chowder. I like the cream cheese taste in the soup, but felt it needed a bit more spices, so I added some Old Bay Seasonings and it gave it a nice flavor. I will try this base for either clam chowder or seafood chowder. Nice change...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Yummy! I added bacon at the start since I've always made chowder with bacon. This was easy and the kids asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I am a huge fan of soups and this one was very good. I made a few changes to suit my tastes, which made it a 5 star chowder: added a bay leaf, a pressed clove of garlic (sauteed with the onion and celery in butter), and a cup of chicken broth (in addition to the milk). I also cut back on the cream cheese to 1/2 a package. Very yummy...I have even traded out the shrimp for a can of crab meat and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
What a great chowder recipe! Added the bay leaf and some Old Bay. I sauteed the celery and onions in salted butter. This was more than enough seasoning for the chowder and it was unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This was really delicious, and heated up great for leftovers too. The only issue I had was the cooking time after the potatoes were added. I ended up having to cook it WAAAAY longer than suggested in order to make the potatoes soft enough and the chowder thick enough. Though once it was all cooked through it really was good, I would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
It was good but a little cloying for my taste. All the cream cheese made it really rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Fantastic! I was in a hurry to make something for dinner b4 I picked up my kids from play practice. This threw together in about 15 minutes. I added four drops of liquid smoke, minced garlic (about one tbls), old bay seasoning, onion powder, and chicken broth (to make it stretch a little). I sauteed the onion, garlic, celery, and celery leaves in evoo with one tbls of butter. everything else I threw in and whisked together. Should have doubled the recipe! Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Basic idea is good. Feel it serves 2 not 4. I added 1/4 tsp. of cayenne. Needs a little something to give it zing. May even add corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
yummy evan liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was amazing!!!! I added an extra 2/3 cup milk, and I also cooked the potatoes in chicken broth before adding it. Then I used the whole pound of shrimp. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States