Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was delicious! I did change a few things though...as the other reviews suggested...added an extra cup of milk..boiled the potatoes in chicken broth then added the broth/potatoes , I also added scallops to it and lemon pepper seasoning...doubled the amount of shrimp too..Mmmm...very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Turned out perfectly! I added three ears of corn cut from the cob, substituted green pepper for the celery, added about 3 shakes of garlic powder and 3-4 healthy glugs of Frank's Red Hot sauce, paprika, fresh ground pepper and skipped the white wine. My husband and I LOVED it and I will be making it again!!! Also, I substituted regular cream cheese for fat free and used 1% milk to cut down some of the fat and calories. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madisonlane240
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Very good recipe. Hubby loved it. Followed the recipe pretty much as written - added Old Bay Seasoning, Mrs Dash. Like others I boiled the cubed potatoes and carrots in chicken broth prior to adding to the chowder. The chowder was better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I really love this recipe...as a base...I also add potatoes and carrots which I boil beforehand until fork tender I then have to add more milk, a little half and half, and some chicken bouillon but then it is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizard_c9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
i kept the ingredients the same, but cooked it in different order. After the onions, I added the potatoes and upped the broth to 2 cups. Cooked the potatoes for 15 minutes until tender, turned the heat down and added the milk/cream cheese. Turned out the perfect thickness, didn't burn, and was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was pretty good. I took the advice of other reviewers and added corn and boiled both the corn and potatoes in some homemade chicken stock I had. I used fresh corn on the cob that I of course cut off the cob. I think I should have cooked the corn and celery a little longer as they were crisp, too crisp for this type of soup. The cream cheese was a fabulous idea, it added a nice smooth, creamy texture and taste, and it was very “mouth-pleasing”. But there was still something missing and I couldn’t put my finger on it. Every time I took a spoonful, I was longing for another flavor to come. I was looking for a layered flavor, but I just wasn’t getting it. THEN I decided to use some garlic pepper seasoning by McCormick (in the grinder) in my bowl, and that did it!!! It completed my dining experience. We still have some soup left in the refrigerator, so when I heat it up I’ll add the garlic pepper seasoning and see how it tastes the next day. UPDATE: This soup was great the next day after adding the garlic pepper seasoning. I also didn’t mind the crispness of the celery and corn anymore. By the way, the garlic pepper seasoning in the grinder has a much more intense flavor than the other stuff; it is actual dehydrated garlic, whole peppercorns, and sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndAQT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I liked the sound of this recipe, so thought I'd try it for dinner tonight. I added 3 gloves of garlic. I didn't have any milk so I used cream of mushroom soup and approx. 1/2 can of water. I added more white wine. Didn't know if I had a dry wine. It was a Chardonney. I added approx 1 cup. This recipe turned out really well. My husband really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by airbornemama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
great recipe!! I will make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
AWESOME! like other reviewers I added a tablespoon of old bay. and we are on a low carb diet so i substituted cooked cauliflower for the potatoe and it was fabulous! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sides Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Great! I needed to add another cup of milk, though. Like others, I added Old Bay seasoning (about 1 teaspoon), and I also added 1 cup frozen corn and 8 sliced baby carrots, to add some more veggies. I will be happy to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States