Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Added a can of creamed corn,fresh dill, and def needed more thank 1 cup of milk. Soo yummy! Wasnt sure i should cook the potato cubes prior to adding to the chowder, but i added them to the chowder uncooked and let them cook slowly while i simmered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Excellent soup! Very easy and flavorful. I also added corn, extra potatoes (and therefore more milk) and cooked the pots in chicken broth. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Great recipe...when I read it I knew you would have to precook the potatoes. I did that plus I doubled the amount as did others. I had a small piece of salmon frozen and I threw it in. Also used low fat cream cheese and it worked fine. This recipes has so many possibilities and I will use it again for company!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grove City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
My review is for this recipe as written. While it fitted the bill for a quick weeknight soup, I thought it was far too heavy on the cream cheese, which was mostly all we could taste. I didn't care for the heavy feel it left in my mouth either. This also makes four extremely skimpy servings. It really should read only two servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Gosh this was so good! The whole familly loved it. I followed previous reviewers suggestions of using some shrimp stock, old bay seasoning, corn and one garlic clove that I sautee with the onions and celery oh and I also used low fat cream cheese and skim milk, my only regret is not doubling the recipe my husband wished I had made more. Thanks for the delicious recipe! Elvira Silva.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was delicious! I did change a few things though...as the other reviews suggested...added an extra cup of milk..boiled the potatoes in chicken broth then added the broth/potatoes , I also added scallops to it and lemon pepper seasoning...doubled the amount of shrimp too..Mmmm...very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Turned out perfectly! I added three ears of corn cut from the cob, substituted green pepper for the celery, added about 3 shakes of garlic powder and 3-4 healthy glugs of Frank's Red Hot sauce, paprika, fresh ground pepper and skipped the white wine. My husband and I LOVED it and I will be making it again!!! Also, I substituted regular cream cheese for fat free and used 1% milk to cut down some of the fat and calories. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madisonlane240
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Very good recipe. Hubby loved it. Followed the recipe pretty much as written - added Old Bay Seasoning, Mrs Dash. Like others I boiled the cubed potatoes and carrots in chicken broth prior to adding to the chowder. The chowder was better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I really love this recipe...as a base...I also add potatoes and carrots which I boil beforehand until fork tender I then have to add more milk, a little half and half, and some chicken bouillon but then it is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizard_c9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
i kept the ingredients the same, but cooked it in different order. After the onions, I added the potatoes and upped the broth to 2 cups. Cooked the potatoes for 15 minutes until tender, turned the heat down and added the milk/cream cheese. Turned out the perfect thickness, didn't burn, and was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States