Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Pretty good stuff! The whole family liked it. I used red potatoes and boiled them in chicken broth, old bay and creole seasoning. I then sauteed the celery and onions with a little old bay and creole. I added some frozen corn and all other ingredients as stated. I added some additional old bay and creole to taste and it was fabulous! This also doubles as a REALLY good chicken corn chowder if you add the corn. Just cube up your chicken and fry it. Then make the recipie with chicken. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
4.5 The deli had shrimp and bacon on sale but otherwise THEIR recipe (in their flyer) was JUST the same as this recipe minus the chopped bacon which got fried up first and really added to the flavour. Also added Old Bay seasoning instead of salt and had fresh shrimp, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I made this for when my mother in law came to visit. She loved it! Was also a big hit with the hubby! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunkissed3894

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandstone, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Good recipe, but it doesn't say that you need to cook the potatos and shrimp before adding to the chowder. If you don't boil the potatos beforehand they may come out underdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I added quite a few things to add flavor (doubled the wine, touch of cayenne, chili powder and hot sauce) so I didn't give it 5 stars. It's a good base, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Excellent recipe and super easy. I used shredded carrot instead of celery to add a little sweetness and through in some cilantro. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Wonderful recipe, but at the end I decided to add seasonings as others recommended and this took it to a whole new level! I didn't have Old Bay Seasoning on hand so I looked up a copy-cat recipe and estimated additions using what I did have. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyree

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Love this recipe! I turned it into an easy crock pot meal as these tend to fit my lifestyle better. As for ingredients I increased the milk to 1 & 3/4 cup like other reviewers, instead of salt I used seasoning salt, added 1 TBSP of Old Bay seasoning and 3/4 of an 11 oz can of super sweet yellow and white corn. Basically I just melted the cream cheese, milk, and margarine in a medium saucepan. Added all of the other ingredients into the crock pot with my additions and poured the melted cream cheese mixture over and cooked on low 6-8 hours. This really simplified the recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Whole family enjoyed! Very easy and delicious! I added some sherry additional potatoes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Delicious! I adapted it once for a slow cooker but it was not as good so I will stick to the stove-top. Also, I leave out the wine completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States