Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
The boyfriend and I loved it, but made a few changes to accomodate what we had on hand: (also doubled servings by time we were through) 1 can (+ 1 can h20) cream of chicken soup, used veggie and regular cream cheese, added carrots and corn, clove of garlic, chili spice, Sriracha Chili Paste, and added 8 oz. crayfish tail meat. I loved this recipe(even though we doctored it a bit)! Will def. make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loislain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Too thick, too bland! It needs some seafood stock or something-not a lot of shrimp flavor! I'm NOT impressed. I will continue my search for a yummy shrimp chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This was great-My kids even loved it!! I changed a few things I boiled the cubed potatoes in chicken stock until fork tender I used 3 cup of potatoes-like others added 1 tablespoon of Old Bay seasoning-added 1 can of corn-1 cup chicken stock an additional cup of milk and a few drops of Tabasco. I also served them in bread bowls GREAT RECIPE! I took some to my sister at work and her co-workers had her call me to ask where I bought it because they wanted it for lunch too =)!Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Made this for my boyfriend and he said it was the best "soup" he had ever had! This from a man who never goes beyond saying anything is better than "good". He likes things a little spicier - so I added some black pepper, cayenne pepper, and tobasco sauce. Great and easy - my favorite combination - will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
Excellent chowder!! I used a little more celery and added some minced garlic and dried parsley (to taste) to the saute. I also used a little more potatoes (pre-cooked), which meant I had to up the liquid a little so I added 1/2 chicken broth. Finally, I also threw in a can of drained clams. Nice, thick, flavorful and a breeze to make. Take another bow Corwynn for another winning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
This was great! I cubed and boiled the potatoes before adding them. It would be hard to cook raw potatoes in this without burning the milk... Also I used cracked pepper and bayleaves. Infinite possibilites with this, use oysters or crab for the shrimp, or maybe I could try soft tofu for the cream cheese. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I also used some Old Bay and a yellow pepper instead of celery... it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I was looking for a recipe to use the frozen shrimp in my freezer and this was excellent! I did things a little differently though. I used a slow cooker and instead of celery I put in cream of celery soup. I cut the shrimp into pieces. I also did not use the dry white wine. It cooked in the slow cooker for about 8 hours. This was the first time I've ever had chowder and it was scrumptous! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reiscakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NYPD K9 COP
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
delicious recipe, great for the cold weather! I used a half pound of large shrimp and cut them in half. I also added about 2T. parsley to the butter when i sauteed the onions and celery. Because I used about 3 c. diced potatoes, I needed more milk (about an extra 3/4 c.), but the cream cheese kept the mixture thick. One more addition I made was 1T. of old bay. Excellent flavor! Will make again! 1/3/10- I made this again today, a little more gourmet, but both equally as delish!! I made a shrimp stock with the shells (adding old bay), once the stock was finished, I removed the shells and cooked the shrimp then used the stock to cook the potatoes. I added some white wine (maybe a Tbsp) to the onion celery mixure while it was cooking, and added more half and half for more broth. I did add about a half cup of corn niblets for color and because,,, well chowders and corn marry so well!! OH I also added some lobster that was left from new years dinner :) If you haven't made this yet, you really should! Don't be nervous with the amount of cream cheese, it adds such a great, rich flavor! And if its too thick add more milk, half and half, evaporated milk, shrimp stock or whatever you're using for the liquid in your recipe... restaurant quality for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
This is a yummy, super easy recipe! I went to the seafood counter at the store and got the broken cocktail shrimp which worked just as well and I didn't need to thaw. It does need old bay though, to give it a kick and a neat "shrimpy" color. A little pepper is necessary too. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States