Shrimp Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I added another roll of crackers to make it stick and pow!!!! I've never had better!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I had a very difficult time getting the patties to stay together and not burn (I tried various heat levels); I'm guessing it's because of the amount of mayo. I'd follow other user's suggestions and reduce the mayo. If that doesn't work, add some more crackers. I do have to say that if you cook the shrimp prior to combining with the other ingredients, this makes a GREAT dip without frying! I used bell pepper instead of jalepeno and omitted the hot sauce so that my kids could eat it, and it was so delicious as a bread dip! I just wish it'd held together better when frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
These are excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made these for dinner tonight. Pared down to two servings (mistake #1) and baked in the oven. Mistake #2 was using too much olive oil in the oven - should have just greased the pan. The flavor was delicious and I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
ok here is what i did .. i chopped the shrimp pretty good. i used 1/4 cup mayo with a egg white mixed in. i used soft stale bread crumbs.i formed patties w/ pressed in panko both sides.and put in fridge for 1 hour and fried in small amount olive oil... oh yeah i added garlic powder,tarragon& oregano.. small amount..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Delicious just the way it is!! Wonderful dipped in Remoulade Sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
These were bit mushy but great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julien

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
These were very good. I did a few things different though. I added old bay, and I used Dijon mustard. Had a great flavor, but they did fall apart. I just couldn't get them to stay together. The flavor was just so good the fact that they fell apart didn't even matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I read lots of reviews and tried to follow the best instructions for getting them to bind, but to no avail. I made them without an egg, thinking that if I baked them at a high temp, they would hold together. Should have gone ahead and added the egg, I suppose. They looked great when I took them out of the oven, but as soon as I tried to move one, they fell apart. I tried cooking them a bit longer, but was worried about the shrimp overcooking...it was definitely on the borderline...and yet, they still fell apart. Trying to salvage my meal, I decided to just eat them anyway, but the crackers and other ingredients just tasted mushy and weird and the shrimp did not shine. Sorry, but there is just too much wrong with this dish to make it worth trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This recipe had so many mixed reviews, however the comments about the flavor intrigued me, so.... I decided to cut the recipe and try it on myself first. I revised it a bit. I used approx a half pound of shrimp, with a heaping Tablespoon of Mayo, a squirt of mustard, a 1/4 cup of chopped onions, 12 crackers, old bay seasoning, pepper, parsley, 2 tbsp of hot sauce, garlic powder, Tony's Seasoning. Covered the bottom of a glass pan with a thick layer of olive oil and baked at 450 for about 20 minutes. It was delicious and crispy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Alva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States