Shrimp Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Found this a little bland. Sautéed the shrimp (fresh) in garlic and oil and omitted the beans. Next time I will add more spices to the rice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I tried this recipe 3 times already. It is really good! I love the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
My favorite burrito!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This was way too salty and the sauce more like a salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Not a fan, it made a huge mess, took forever, and I didn't really like the flavors. I had a hard time getting the rice to soften, which may have been the plan since they had me brown the rice for a full 5 mins. I cooked it for an hour and it was still crunchy. The chipotle sauce was way too spicy for me and the refried beans were too salty. Maybe add garlic powder not garlic salt to everything?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Very good. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
These were excellent. I added black beans to the rice to save a few steps. I used sour cream in place of the yogurt in the chipotle mayo. Very easy and very good blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I took great liberty with this recipe, mostly because that's just what I do. Here's how I changed it: 1. For the rice, I did not start with raw rice. I always seem to have leftover cooked white rice in the house, so for this recipe I sauteed some chopped onion with the cumin, then added in about 1-1/2 cups of cooked rice. I made sort of a "fried rice" out of this. I omitted the tomato because I did not have any in the house. 2. I substituted black beans for the refries just because I prefer them over refries. 3. For the sauce, I used plain greek yogurt and sour cream instead of the mayo. Seemed more authentic to me. And I was very generous with the chipotles in sauce because we like our foods quite spicy. 4. I assembled six burritos as outlined in the recipe but I lined them up in a cake pan and put it into the oven at 350 for about 45 minutes. 5. When I served the burritos, I offered more of the chipotle sour cream & yogurt sauce, more grated cheese, and some jarred salsa as toppings. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Pretty good! While I really enjoyed this, I wish I would have viewed the "how to" video first. The video instructions do not even come CLOSE to SHACKL's instructions. The layering order and layering quantities of each ingredient are completely different. I was disappointed that I was short on shrimp and a TON of rice, beans and chipotle sauce left over. I thought I must have done something wrong, so I decided to watch the video. After doing so, it all made sense (but I shouldn't have to watch a video first in order to find this out, IMHO). You are to SMEAR 1/4 c. of beans over your warmed tortilla FIRST, then top that with 1/2 c. of cheese (not 1/4 as directed), 1/4 c. of shrimp (not 1/2 c.), a 1/4 cup of rice and a dollop of sauce. There is no mention of adding salsa to the burrito itself. I added salsa to mine and wish I wouldn't have.... Reserve your salsa for the side! If you use fresh salsa as I did, It will make your burrito watery and M-E-S-S-Y! If you must add salsa to your burrito, strain it very well! Other than this mishap, I REALLY enjoyed these and found the combination of flavors to be SPOT on. My hubs even commented that the rice would be fantastic on its own and I thought the chipotle spread was absolutely superb, albeit a tad bland (I had to add a touch more chipotle to mine). Chips and guacamole rounded out our casual meal. All in all, these are darned good - just watch the video first lol! Thanks for sharing your unique recipe, SHACKL! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I did a lot of tweaks but used the original as a base. I cooked the rice as written in the original recipe. I cooked the shrimp with garlic powder, a dash of garlic salt, and 12 oz of corn. No beans, no sauce, no salsa. Just put rice, shredded cheese, corn, and shrimp in a tortilla and wrapped that sucker up. It served its purpose and it seemed much faster than it would have been if Id gone with the original recipe, though I'll have to try it as written some time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaityDunks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States