Shrimp, Broccoli, and Sun-dried Tomatoes Scampi with Angel Hair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This recipe has potential but is only worth 3 stars as written. Here are my tips: 1) Use more garlic 2) Use half the butter 3) Add a little white wine 4) Stir-fry the broccoli with the garlic and tomatoes - that way it won't get overcooked 5) Top with Parmesan for serving. Now, you will have a delicious dish. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DChrissy
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This recipe is only about 3 stars as is, but 5 with some changes. I marinated the shrimp in kosher salt, black pepper, Italian seasonings, onion powder, minced garlic and olive oil overnight. I grilled the shrimp on an indoor grill and set to the side. Sautéed a pack of frozen broccoli in butter, added minced garlic, black pepper, onion powder and a can of tomatoes for 5 minutes. I used lightly buttered Chinese lo mein noodles, too. YUM YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DChrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Rainier, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Thanks to all the reviews. I followed the advice of several. I tossed my shrimp in basil, oregano, red and black pepper, and salt I had some fresh asparagus that needed to be used. Saute the broccoli,asparagus, 1 large mushroom, lots of garlic, and jar of fire roasted peppers, plus the can of tomatoes, not drained. To this I added a few more dashes of red pepper flakes because it seemed bland. After about 5 minutes, I added the shrimp and it was truly delicious.Don't forget to add some white wine when you put shrimp into the skillet. Will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Delicious recipe! I made it twice in one week because we liked it so much. I did change it slightly by adding more garlic and I tossed the shrimp in basil, red pepper flakes and oregano before adding it to the frying pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I made this a couple years ago (using this site) and am about to make it again tonight! I forgot to rate it before, but it is yummy! I'll serve it with some sort of fruit to round out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NERDYCHEESECAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meagan621
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This pasta was absolutely delicious! I did make quite a few changes to suit our palate. I tripled the amount of garlic, added a cup of mushrooms, a hearty splash of white wine, & 1/2 cup sweet red peppers. I also tossed the shrimp with oregano, crushed red peppers, and freshly ground black pepper, as others had suggested. This dish is even more beautiful than it is delectable! I will DEFINITELY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan621

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This was good. I added sliced mushrooms. Also I used way more garlic than called for. I don't consider 1/2 tsp to be anywhere near enough garlic for a dish to be called "scampi". Added some white wine while cooking the garlic and mushrooms. This needed a bit of pasta water at the end to moisten it up a bit. I'll probably make it again, but next time with less oil and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I liked this dish a lot. Something different from our regular nightly routine. I think the recipe is mis-quoted on the tomato quantity. That would be a TOMATO stir fry and you wouldn't see or taste anything else. I used one 8.5 oz jar and it was great. I'd suggest adding a little more shrimp if you want a meat-ier dish, but it is still good. I am not giving this 5 STARS because there is a BIG problem when you put this all together. You end up with a large pile of pasta and all of the other ingredients don't "mix" with the rest. I'd suggest either leaving a tablespoon or so of the water you boiled the pasta in with the pasta after you drain it (a friend told me this would work but I haven't tried it) OR take the easy way and just don't mix it all in. Serve up the bowl of pasta and the top it with the shrimp/tomato mixture. This tasted really good but presentation was off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2000
This dish looks great to the eye. It does lack flavor and you need to be careful not to overcook the broccoli. We tried to add extra garlic plus added parsley, lemon peel, pepper and green onion and still felt it lacked something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
This was a quick and delicious meal. I simply added some salt and Old Bay to taste and it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States