Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Don't let the fact that this is such a simple recipe throw you, it is delicious! I did some slight modifications: I decreased the onion to a quarter of a good sized one and increased the red pepper by half, as I notice someone else did. Also used real half and half- come on- if I were going to make this weekly I'd go with the non-fat (which seems like an oxymoron to me, but otherwise.... I also left off the parmesan. I love cheese of any kind on just about everything , but this just doesn't need it, IMHO. I also left off the butter - if you use real half and half you really really don't need it! Probably wouldn't even use it with the fake stuff. Now, I did cap the bowls with puff pastry, because this is what one of my favorite restaurants does with their lobster bisque and boy, does that work well in both recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Really good stuff - added 2 tablespoons diced cilantro, 3 small diced cloves of garlic and one small diced tomato to the mix while sauteeing - sauteed the shrimp in garlic butter before adding - used 2 tablespoons of franks red hot sauce in the sauce mix - added fresh grated parmesan to the mix before blending and then served on top of half a bowl white rice with two whole shrimp, some diced cilantro and freshly grated parmesan to top the whole thing off... will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David H. Rambo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Thanks for the recipe! I did 1 c beef broth and 1 cup Greek yogurt instead of the 2 c half-and-half. I pureed the soup and used 1/2 c cheddar instead of 1/4 c Parmesan. Otherwise I made as written. Very quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Try as I might I couldn't discern any shrimp flavor at all. I followed directions carefully with the exception of using only half as much bell pepper and more shrimp than called for, and it still tasted like Cream of Pepper soup. And it does have a very odd texture. Once is enough, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Didn't care for it. Not much flavor. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is an easy excellent recipe. I think heavy cream instead of half and half would make it even better. It would provide more richness. I think you can use crab, crawfish or scallops for more depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Soooooo yummy! I didn't have fat free half & half (only full fat) so I omitted the butter, & threw extra little chunks of shrimp in at the end. Altogether I used a lb of shrimp. I don't usually change recipes like that but I needed to use what I had...anyway, it was life changing. Thank you for the recipe! :) Also: shrimp on its own creeps me out, so this is the ideal way to feed people who are creeped out by shrimp shrimp. If that made sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Double the recipe and save half. Add in one finely chopped Jalapeno pepper and use 2 tsp of SriRacha hot chile sauce. Just the right little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Awesome low fat soup! I didn't blend it since I prefer a chunky soup. I added a clove of minced garlic, a little garlic salt, a splash of sherry, and some oregano. Very good! Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Loved it. I added a bit more chili sauce for an extra kick. I wouldn't mind adding a few veggies in next time. Maybe some cubed tomatoes, celery, mushrooms, etc. Tons of ways to customize it. Served it with a romaine/spinach salad and ciabatta bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States