Shrimp Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
A lot of work but fantastic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This recipe is fantastic. I have made it a few times now and I am never disappointed. Great flavors. I have also substituted beer for the bourbon and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
this was very good --just alot of work --not worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Outstanding! I used clam juice and water, omitted the brandy and used a little more stock and even forgot the sherry. The flavor was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Perfect... Almost identical to the recipe from my book from Culinary School except easy to scale thanks to AllRecipes Website. I use Lobster Base instead of fish stock to keep it simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
My family loved this recipe (even my five year old son). I didn't have all of the ingredients, so I made some adjustments to the original recipe. I used chicken stock instead of the seafood stock. I used cans of cocktail shrimp and skipped the step with the shrimp shells. I used a can of tomato sauce instead of the paste and replaced the brandy & sherry with white wine. I omitted the Old Bay Seasoning - as I didn't have any on hand. Before adding the chopped shrimp at the end, I ran the soup through the food processor to eliminate any chunks. Then I added the chopped shrimp and warmed everything through before serving. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Overall, I was disappointed with this recipe. It was okay, but nothing like I had anticipated. It was a lot of work (I had to make my own seafood stock) and really lacked flavor. I have made other seafood bisque before which was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Lemke Nugent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Made this for New Year's Eve dinner and got rave reviews. Easy to do and great results. Made it up to the point of adding the heavy cream in the morning. Then reheated and finished right before serving. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is a wonderful shrimp bisque that impresses every time I've made it. Well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAKSHMI5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I had to make a few changes based on what I had: chicken stock instead of seafood, vodka instead of brandy, no tomato paste, and fat-free half & half instead of heavy cream. This is probably the best seafood soup I've ever made, even with all those changes! It takes some time but it's soooo worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States