Shrimp Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This recipe is beyond flavourful. I cut the recipe in half because it was just my partner and me. I used bourbon instead of brandy (it was all I had) and left out the sherry. My partner went nuts over this. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bazzo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
this was super easy to make, and adjust to my needs. i always cook with a pinch of this and a dab of that. so long as you have a solid base this soup can easily be adjusted up or down. i used cooking sherry in place of the brandy, and chicken and veg stock in place of the fish stock. i also started cooking the shells and onions first, it just made sense to start there as it was the most labor intensive part of this dish. i am sitting in front of a hot bowl of this right now, and i have to go, because it is so good!! I WANNA EAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Fresh Medium Shrimp taste delicious in this Shrimp Bishque II. I have added 2% milk instead of 3 quarts of seafood stock to enrich this Shrimp Bisque. Also, I substituted 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour to balance the consistency and thickness of the Shrimp Bisque II. In order to maintain the Fresh Shrimp taste, I added 1/2 onion diced with one cup of grape tomatoes chopped for flavor. In addition, added one tablespoons of olive oil to compliment the richness of butter. This Shrimp Bishque II does taste like fresh Medium Shrimp by popular consensus and review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G.C. Hung

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
excellent bisque, I have made it several times and everybody loves it. Restaurant quality recipe. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Outstanding recipe!!! I followed the instructions but added crabmeat along with the shrimp. Excellent! This recipe is a keeper for sure! Shared it with the girls at work and a few of my patients (those with no diet restrictions). They all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I'm not prone to giving bad reviews. This recipe has WAY too much paprika. I followed the recipe exactly, but omitted the alcohol (we don't drink). I think it would have been delicious with 1 t. paprika, but 3 T KILLED it. I could hardly taste the beautiful homemade shrimp/onion stock and expensive storebought seafood stock. It could be personal preferrence, but start out easy on the spices, if you're going to choose this recipe. I guess I prefer a white sauce shrimp bisque, as opposed to a more cajun style bisque, so I'm pretty sure it's personal preferrence. You should know, though, before trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famfaithandfood,omy!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Lots of work, but worth every minute. I used half and half instead of heavy cream, and it was still very flavorful. My only word of caution is to use a mesh strainer--or better yet, cheese cloth in the mesh strainer. Don't try to use only cheese cloth to strain, because it has a hard time holding up to the thickness of the sauce. Lacking a mesh strainer, as an emergency fix I put my cheesecloth into a colander and strained it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Delicious! I did not find this dish to be all that difficult and time consuming to make as some of the other reviews said. I did substitute the seafood stock for chicken and vegetable stock and it still came out GREAT!! I highly recommend this recipe. I think it is very traditional and was exactly what I was hoping for. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I make this Bisque every Holiday and it is always a crowd pleasure. I think its better than many other fancy restaurants Bisque. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States