Shrimp Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Outstanding recipe!!! I followed the instructions but added crabmeat along with the shrimp. Excellent! This recipe is a keeper for sure! Shared it with the girls at work and a few of my patients (those with no diet restrictions). They all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I'm not prone to giving bad reviews. This recipe has WAY too much paprika. I followed the recipe exactly, but omitted the alcohol (we don't drink). I think it would have been delicious with 1 t. paprika, but 3 T KILLED it. I could hardly taste the beautiful homemade shrimp/onion stock and expensive storebought seafood stock. It could be personal preferrence, but start out easy on the spices, if you're going to choose this recipe. I guess I prefer a white sauce shrimp bisque, as opposed to a more cajun style bisque, so I'm pretty sure it's personal preferrence. You should know, though, before trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famfaithandfood,omy!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Lots of work, but worth every minute. I used half and half instead of heavy cream, and it was still very flavorful. My only word of caution is to use a mesh strainer--or better yet, cheese cloth in the mesh strainer. Don't try to use only cheese cloth to strain, because it has a hard time holding up to the thickness of the sauce. Lacking a mesh strainer, as an emergency fix I put my cheesecloth into a colander and strained it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Delicious! I did not find this dish to be all that difficult and time consuming to make as some of the other reviews said. I did substitute the seafood stock for chicken and vegetable stock and it still came out GREAT!! I highly recommend this recipe. I think it is very traditional and was exactly what I was hoping for. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I make this Bisque every Holiday and it is always a crowd pleasure. I think its better than many other fancy restaurants Bisque. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This is AMAZING! After reading the reviews, I mistakenly thought, that since it was going involve so much work, that I would triple the recipe. All-day ordeal! But, I can only imagine what that quantity would have cost, with a very similar flavor, from the restaurant I always order it from. If it is your first time making it, perhaps go the opposite way & reduce the recipe so you'll be prepared for the next time. Also, I made one batch on the side with veg stock (Kitchen Basics brand!) for a friend, and I couldn't taste a bit of difference, in the end. DELICIOUS! ...TIP!!!: consider getting a CHEAP mesh strainer, if you can find one. Three days later, and I'm still trying to pick/brush/spray all of the shrimp shell mixture out of my fine mesh strainer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
A fab recipe. A bit of work but if you pre-read the recipe you can better organize yourself. I halved the recipe for ease to work with my kitchen. A sub for brandy is orange liquor and apple juice for the sherry. AND please take skillet off the heat (turn off) before you add the brandy, pour in, ignite skillet, then turn cooktop back on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
A lot of work but fantastic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This recipe is fantastic. I have made it a few times now and I am never disappointed. Great flavors. I have also substituted beer for the bourbon and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States