Shrimp Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
The taste of the bisque is very, very smooth. The changes that I made were as follows: already had shrimp shell stock, so just used this. After cooking the flour/butter mixture along with fish stock, I added onion, celery, etc. I let the mixture heat slowly, and thickened for about 40 minutes. Added shrimp at last ten minutes. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
We are eatting this right now and we wish that we could give it more stars!! It is soooo smooth. My husband says he has never had anything like it...."a true culinary experience" is what he thinks!! Things I did differently: 1. Used cooking sherry and vermouth instead of sherry and brandy 2. used the crawfish stock that I made last night and did not cook the shrimp shells 3. doubled the hot pepper sauce and worcestershire sauce 4. used half and half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
My first time making bisque turned out amazing. This recipe is so unbelievable. Made it for an office holiday party for 12 people. This turned out to be a perfect amount since it left enough that I could send everyone home with a few ladles to enjoy it later. Every loved it. I substituted 1 1/2 lbs of shrimp with 1 lb of shrimp and 1 can of lump crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This is the best seafood bisque recipe I have made yet. You could change the shrimp for crawfish or crab or combine them. Also, the trouble of straining out the shells is well worth the effort--they add so much flavor! When I peeled my shrimp, I made sure I threw away the feet and only put the big pieces of shell in my pot. This way, they were easier to get out. Also, I used chicken stock instead of seafood, and I added corn at the end so that it's a delicious shrimp corn bisque. Thanks for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
My husband said that this dish is restaurant quality and I agree! I halved the recipe and used chicken stock (freshly made). There was more sauce than needed but I have frozen the leftover to go with some frozen seafood mix that I will cook at a later stage. I think that most of the flavour comes from the shrimp shells/heads and the brandy and sherry added. The best taste came after I added the sherry and seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAIRDINKUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windhoek, Khomas, Namibia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Outstanding! Takes a long time to make, but it's well worth the effort. Make an evening out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
Excellant. My family loved this recipe. I used more cream and less stock to make it creamier. I also left out the hot sauce since we are not a "hot and spicy" family. Still very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Delicious - wonderful. I added crab meat and clams (with clam broth) and used a Thai style stock in place of the seafood stock. I also used half and half in place of heavy cream and this came out absolutley fabulous. Just be careful when you light the brandy - use an oven mit - it definately flames up quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIVNILLI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
My husband loved it! Restaurant quality for sure. I would definitly make this again. It did take a long time to make, but definitly worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This is probably the best recipe I've found on this site. Unbelievable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States