Shrimp Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
This recipe was FANTASTIC! I made this bisque soup, then poured the cooled soup into ziplock bag-lined 16oz cups, then froze. When completely frozen, I removed the soup filled ziplocks from the cup molds and had a dozen servings ready to defrost on a moments notice in my freezer. This recipe is not an easy one, but VERY fun to make with a friend (you will probably need help with the cheese cloth straining - it's a slow messy strain). HIGHLY Recommend for taste, show and fun challange to prepare. Serves nicely with fresh tomatoe grilled-cheese sandwiches. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This is the best seafood bisque recipe I have made yet. You could change the shrimp for crawfish or crab or combine them. Also, the trouble of straining out the shells is well worth the effort--they add so much flavor! When I peeled my shrimp, I made sure I threw away the feet and only put the big pieces of shell in my pot. This way, they were easier to get out. Also, I used chicken stock instead of seafood, and I added corn at the end so that it's a delicious shrimp corn bisque. Thanks for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Awesome soup Angel! Whenever we boil shrimp for cocktail, we always save the broth and freeze it. It was nice to have all that pink broth on hand for the soup. The only thing I changed was subbing evaporated skim milk for the cream. With the addition of a big salad and homemade bread, this meal was a great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
A miracle. I am a fairly inexperienced cook, and throughout the process I thought I had a disaster working. Accidentally used chicken stock rather than the seafood stock. At the end, this was the best shrimp bisque that I have ever tasted, if I did make it myself. As I was cleaning the kitchen I kept dipping into the leftover bisque. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I'm not prone to giving bad reviews. This recipe has WAY too much paprika. I followed the recipe exactly, but omitted the alcohol (we don't drink). I think it would have been delicious with 1 t. paprika, but 3 T KILLED it. I could hardly taste the beautiful homemade shrimp/onion stock and expensive storebought seafood stock. It could be personal preferrence, but start out easy on the spices, if you're going to choose this recipe. I guess I prefer a white sauce shrimp bisque, as opposed to a more cajun style bisque, so I'm pretty sure it's personal preferrence. You should know, though, before trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famfaithandfood,omy!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
this was delicious! it does take a bit of time to prepare but it is worth it. i actually doubled the amount of shrimp and put half into the simmering mixture in step two (in place of omitting the shrimp shells) that way after the whole mixture simmered for 45 minutes, i could throw it all into a blender without having to pick out shrimp shells. the extra shrimp adds a lot of flavor and bulk. after pureeing it in the blender i put it in the fridge overnight, and reheated it the next day. After reheating it,i then added in the cream, spices, and more shrimp. wonderful! dinner party of 12 and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Lots of work, but worth every minute. I used half and half instead of heavy cream, and it was still very flavorful. My only word of caution is to use a mesh strainer--or better yet, cheese cloth in the mesh strainer. Don't try to use only cheese cloth to strain, because it has a hard time holding up to the thickness of the sauce. Lacking a mesh strainer, as an emergency fix I put my cheesecloth into a colander and strained it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This is AMAZING! After reading the reviews, I mistakenly thought, that since it was going involve so much work, that I would triple the recipe. All-day ordeal! But, I can only imagine what that quantity would have cost, with a very similar flavor, from the restaurant I always order it from. If it is your first time making it, perhaps go the opposite way & reduce the recipe so you'll be prepared for the next time. Also, I made one batch on the side with veg stock (Kitchen Basics brand!) for a friend, and I couldn't taste a bit of difference, in the end. DELICIOUS! ...TIP!!!: consider getting a CHEAP mesh strainer, if you can find one. Three days later, and I'm still trying to pick/brush/spray all of the shrimp shell mixture out of my fine mesh strainer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
This recipe was wonderful, it had wonderful flavor, and a great creamy texture because of the rue, I didn't have to use heavy cream, I used regular milk, I also used flavored cooking wine instead of the sherry and brandy. My mother is a great cook, and she said that my bisque was better than her's! That was a huge compliment! Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This is probably the best recipe I've found on this site. Unbelievable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States