Shrimp Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This recipe was very good. I didn't have brandy or the worcestershire. I used 1/2 paprika and 1/2 of the hot sauce, due to taste. I also used fat free half and half and it was good. This is definitely restaurant quality. We give this between 4 and 5 stars. Since I did change it a bit and I do think the leftovers will be even better, I am giving it a 5. It is a lot of work and a lot of mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Even my kids liked it. This was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I have never made anything but beef stew. These instructions were easy and the recipe was fantastic. My family now thinks I am a chef! Great recipe! PS. Had to use a mesh strainer because the cheese cloth wasn't working.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Larry
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Very very good, not that easy but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
OH MY GOODNESS! This bisque is absolutely amazing. I follwed the recipe, except I did not use the Sherry, since my local store did not have it. I also only had 1oz of Brandy (misread the recipe) and just subbed a few splashes of white wine. I did not find this recipe difficult at all. I used a fine mesh strainer which worked like a charm and made the straining super simple and fast. My only suggestion is to double, if not triple the amount of shrimp. I served this over some rice (which is traditional of some bisques) and with crusty bread. Most amazing bisque. Will save this recipe and use for a lifetime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is an amazing recipe - a little time consuming, but WELL WORTH the effort. I always receive many compliments on this dish. Definately will keep it in the recipe box for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I love this soup! It is one of the best I have ever made. I used a 1 lb of shrimp though instead of shells because I like a little texture. I used a submersion blender and it worked perfect. Thank you so very much for the awesome recipe. You are a Soup Goddess or God ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I used a mix of crab shrimp and lobster to make this incredibly decadent. SO worth it. I could not find any seafood stock, so I just put all my shells in the chicken stock to flavor that, and instead of straining out the onions used an emersion blender to purree them. I was VERY VERY happy with the results, as were all 5 people I fed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This recipe is beyond flavourful. I cut the recipe in half because it was just my partner and me. I used bourbon instead of brandy (it was all I had) and left out the sherry. My partner went nuts over this. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bazzo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
this was super easy to make, and adjust to my needs. i always cook with a pinch of this and a dab of that. so long as you have a solid base this soup can easily be adjusted up or down. i used cooking sherry in place of the brandy, and chicken and veg stock in place of the fish stock. i also started cooking the shells and onions first, it just made sense to start there as it was the most labor intensive part of this dish. i am sitting in front of a hot bowl of this right now, and i have to go, because it is so good!! I WANNA EAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States