Shrimp Avocado Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
This was very bland so I added salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, and a little celery salt. I also thought there was too much mayo (and I like a lot of mayo). I will make again, but with less mayo. This would also be good as a sandwich on a roll, without the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Most say it's better the next day- I hope so. It definitely needs more spice / flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Traveler
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Rather than adding diced tomato, I cut the tops off of some tomatoes, used the insides in the recipe, and served the shrimp & pasta salad in the tomato shells. I stood the avocado slices on end, so they would do double duty as a garnish, along with a sprinkle of Litehouse Freeze-Dried dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Traveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
For us, this was on the bland side as others have indicated. I never use straight mayo as a dressing in a salad like this. It's too thick and I think it overwhelms the taste of the other ingredients. I always use a mixture of mayo and sour cream, thinned with milk. To this, I added Old Bay, celery seed, the red pepper flakes as well as salt and pepper. Even after that adjustment it was relatively lacking in flavor, despite having a combination of many of my favorite ingredients. After a few bites, I added a few sliced green olives on top - it helped, but I wouldn't include them in the salad itself. I really can't put my finger on what exactly would make this a "good" recipe for me, but as this is we probably won't repeat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Family liked it very much. Didn't add all the pasta, and put the avocado on top in case we had leftovers. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Made this for our Mah-Jongg group everyone asked about it..Always find what I am looking for here..I added some chopped basil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Super easy fast salad to put together and a hit everywhere you go! I do add a little bit of pepper, salt and garlic salt for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Way too much mayo. It was all we could taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I'd have to say this recipe was okay. Not great, just okay. I brought it to a potluck and people liked it. I did add some Old Bay and Celery Seed, otherwise I think this may have been a little bland. Another thing I did (and I'm glad I did!) I poured the 1/4 cup lemon juice in a bowl and added the diced avocados as I cut them. I made sure the avocados were well coated then just poured the whole thing in - the avocados were still beautiful green the next afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Remninds me of BLT pasta salad. Absolutely use oldbay on the shrimp. I'd half the mayo, or just add gradual tablespoons. Next time I may use equal parts mayo & yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States