Shrimp Avocado Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Most say it's better the next day- I hope so. It definitely needs more spice / flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Traveler
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Rather than adding diced tomato, I cut the tops off of some tomatoes, used the insides in the recipe, and served the shrimp & pasta salad in the tomato shells. I stood the avocado slices on end, so they would do double duty as a garnish, along with a sprinkle of Litehouse Freeze-Dried dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Traveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
For us, this was on the bland side as others have indicated. I never use straight mayo as a dressing in a salad like this. It's too thick and I think it overwhelms the taste of the other ingredients. I always use a mixture of mayo and sour cream, thinned with milk. To this, I added Old Bay, celery seed, the red pepper flakes as well as salt and pepper. Even after that adjustment it was relatively lacking in flavor, despite having a combination of many of my favorite ingredients. After a few bites, I added a few sliced green olives on top - it helped, but I wouldn't include them in the salad itself. I really can't put my finger on what exactly would make this a "good" recipe for me, but as this is we probably won't repeat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Family liked it very much. Didn't add all the pasta, and put the avocado on top in case we had leftovers. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Made this for our Mah-Jongg group everyone asked about it..Always find what I am looking for here..I added some chopped basil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Super easy fast salad to put together and a hit everywhere you go! I do add a little bit of pepper, salt and garlic salt for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Way too much mayo. It was all we could taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I'd have to say this recipe was okay. Not great, just okay. I brought it to a potluck and people liked it. I did add some Old Bay and Celery Seed, otherwise I think this may have been a little bland. Another thing I did (and I'm glad I did!) I poured the 1/4 cup lemon juice in a bowl and added the diced avocados as I cut them. I made sure the avocados were well coated then just poured the whole thing in - the avocados were still beautiful green the next afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Remninds me of BLT pasta salad. Absolutely use oldbay on the shrimp. I'd half the mayo, or just add gradual tablespoons. Next time I may use equal parts mayo & yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I added a can of rotel tomatoes drained, and chopped black olives. I left out the bacon and cheddar cheese. I added crumbled feta cheese instead. I added about a tsp. of curry powder too. I rated it five stars with my changes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States