Shrimp Avocado Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by The Traveler
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Rather than adding diced tomato, I cut the tops off of some tomatoes, used the insides in the recipe, and served the shrimp & pasta salad in the tomato shells. I stood the avocado slices on end, so they would do double duty as a garnish, along with a sprinkle of Litehouse Freeze-Dried dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Traveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
For us, this was on the bland side as others have indicated. I never use straight mayo as a dressing in a salad like this. It's too thick and I think it overwhelms the taste of the other ingredients. I always use a mixture of mayo and sour cream, thinned with milk. To this, I added Old Bay, celery seed, the red pepper flakes as well as salt and pepper. Even after that adjustment it was relatively lacking in flavor, despite having a combination of many of my favorite ingredients. After a few bites, I added a few sliced green olives on top - it helped, but I wouldn't include them in the salad itself. I really can't put my finger on what exactly would make this a "good" recipe for me, but as this is we probably won't repeat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Family liked it very much. Didn't add all the pasta, and put the avocado on top in case we had leftovers. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Made this for our Mah-Jongg group everyone asked about it..Always find what I am looking for here..I added some chopped basil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Super easy fast salad to put together and a hit everywhere you go! I do add a little bit of pepper, salt and garlic salt for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Way too much mayo. It was all we could taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I'd have to say this recipe was okay. Not great, just okay. I brought it to a potluck and people liked it. I did add some Old Bay and Celery Seed, otherwise I think this may have been a little bland. Another thing I did (and I'm glad I did!) I poured the 1/4 cup lemon juice in a bowl and added the diced avocados as I cut them. I made sure the avocados were well coated then just poured the whole thing in - the avocados were still beautiful green the next afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Remninds me of BLT pasta salad. Absolutely use oldbay on the shrimp. I'd half the mayo, or just add gradual tablespoons. Next time I may use equal parts mayo & yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I added a can of rotel tomatoes drained, and chopped black olives. I left out the bacon and cheddar cheese. I added crumbled feta cheese instead. I added about a tsp. of curry powder too. I rated it five stars with my changes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was amazing and simple!!! I left out the bacon and didn't serve it on a bed of lettuce, but you can buy frozen shrimp already cooked and deveined and makes this recipe so simple, easy, and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caterak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado, Tomato, & Mozzarella

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Barilla® Tri-Color Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States