Shrimp Asopao Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
My husband and I thought this recipe was very bland. I don't think I'm going to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I made this with a few tweaks, added crab and scallops with cilantro, brown rice. Very Good. Also used baby carrots no peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was really tasty - with the flavors and seasonings it was like a mix between paella and jambalaya, but still very different from either. I followed other reviewers suggestions and used a can of tomatoes since fresh tomatoes are awful this time of year, and I added some cilantro. Overall very tasty - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Fantastic! I followed the recipe very closely - but I did take the advise from the reviews to use a couple of cans of diced tomato to make up some of the 7c of water. Also I used frozen broccoli (husband hates peas). I used brown basmati rice - love that! but it does take longer to cook. When it was nearly done I sampled it and it was a little bland so I added a couple of spoons of beef broth granules which added just what it needed. I will definitely be making this again, it was so good and a nice variety for cooking shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was a good recipe.. I made a few changes and it came out really good. I substituted half of the water with chicken broth. Added sofrito, chicken and shrimp and potatoes. My picky son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This is a caribbean recipe, would be even better if could use 'sofrito' but not all the ingredients can be found everywere in the US. Also the original recipes use 'caldo de pescado' (fish broth) instead of water, adds lots of flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
We truly enjoyed this recipe. I took the suggestion of using some diced tomatoes and cilantro. We found it to be very flavorful. I added 2 cans of diced tomatoes in place of part of the water. Added a little fresh Cilantro and skipped the peas. I used a brown rice and it needed about twice as much time as suggested in the recipe but the flavor was great (the kids even ate it!). A+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Absolutely delicious! don't let the number of ingredients scare you, it is very easy to make. Mine did not come out as a soup but more as a rice dish but everyone loved it. Next time would subsitute some tomatoes and/or chicken broth for some of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I think this dish is very ordinary and not as delicious as I expected. And I didn`t feel any hint of caribbean flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was very tasty! I added a can of diced tomatoes and some fresh cilantro and it was even better. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States