Shrimp Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I read all of the reviews before I made this and followed some of the advice. First I doubled the batch 'cause I have a big family to feed. Then I added a can of crabmeat and reduced the shrimp to 1 1/2 c. I sauteed the shrimp in some garlic and butter first. finally, I added about 3/4 c. sour cream. It became the best artichoke dip I ever ate! And my family agreed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
This dip is very good, although I think you might get a little more "seafood" flavor by using crabmeat. The shrimp added some texture, but there was very little flavor. I'll definitely make the dip again, with a little fine tuning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIBOWERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
Very good!I substituted canned crab instead of shrimp and it still turned out wonderful!Beautiful presentation and oh so rich!This is a nice change from the usual artichoke dip! It also reheats great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
LOVE THIS DIP! I have served it at least five times at different events and have received raves everytime. I do add crab meat along with the shrimp and I tend to add a bit more cheese...mixing the cheese types depending on my mood. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I added a few more things to make this even better, a squeeze of 1/2 lemon, few dashes of worchester sauce and 1 teaspoon of Old Bay. Plus take 1/3 to 1/2 of the shrimp,add in with mayo and parmesan cheese in food processor, this will bring the shrimp flavor through out the dip. Served w/ warmed pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Honestly, I didn't really like this recipe as is. I made one small batch to taste it, and after tasting it decided to try adding about 3/4 cup of sour cream (to a doubled recipe). It turned out REALLY GOOD! That would be my only suggestion. I sent it to a party with a friend, and when I arrived later, I was met at the door by three people asking for the recipe (before they even knew my name!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Looking forward to having this again! Was very good/huge hit at party, though I did tweak it a bit. 1) Sauteed shrimp in butter, Old Bay, minced garlic till JUST done, chopped coarsely. 2) Used cheeses in fridge -- 1C triple cheddar, 1C pizza mix and grated fresh asiago. 3) Coarsely chopped artichokes. 4) Mixture (prior to adding shrimp) looked dry so added @ 1/3+/- sour cream to moisten. 5) Omitted garlic salt -- plenty salty with OB. THIS WAS GOOD!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MttaLeslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by t_jones
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This was SO good, I added roasted jalapenos and some hot sauce along with a blend of cheeses.....about a cup more but I used less parm then stated. Turned out great , I will be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This dip was polished off at a party in about 5 minutes. People were raving about it. Based on prior reviews, I added some sour cream (1/3 - 1/2 cup), red pepper flakes, and tabasco. I used good Vermont cheddar, and fresh garlic + salt instead of garlic salt. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was so easy and tasted AWESOME! I didn't measure anything exactly, just eye-balled it. I didn't have green onions so I grated some white instead. I also threw in a diced fresh jalepeno (seeds removed) for a little kick. Will definitely make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States