Shrimp Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I used canned crabmeat instead of the shrimp and used a few different kinds of shredded cheese that I had on hand, also sauteed some diced red pepper and decreases the amount of onion. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I read all of the reviews before I made this and followed some of the advice. First I doubled the batch 'cause I have a big family to feed. Then I added a can of crabmeat and reduced the shrimp to 1 1/2 c. I sauteed the shrimp in some garlic and butter first. finally, I added about 3/4 c. sour cream. It became the best artichoke dip I ever ate! And my family agreed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I added a few more things to make this even better, a squeeze of 1/2 lemon, few dashes of worchester sauce and 1 teaspoon of Old Bay. Plus take 1/3 to 1/2 of the shrimp,add in with mayo and parmesan cheese in food processor, this will bring the shrimp flavor through out the dip. Served w/ warmed pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I'm not that great of a cook so it didn't turn out great but it could be my fault. I didn't think the cheddar belonged. I will try to modify this one to my liking. It tasted better with french bread than salty crackers because its already a bit salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motomoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I made this for an event I was catering and everyone loved it! Only thing I added was extra shrimp and a tad bit of garlic! Better than I expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheEngstroms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Awesome dip. Everyone loved it. I had great fresh shrimp, that I boiled with a heavy seasoning of Old Bay. I think that by doing this it is ok to leave out the crab as others have suggested and still get a great seafood flavor. Will definitely make this a regulat item at dinner parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Great dip but I added Old Bay seasoning to the top of this recipe considering it's a seafood dip and I'm from Maryland. It gives the dip a true seafood flavor. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Yum! Yum! Yum! This was great! I had no leftovers at a party. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Meyers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was an absolute hit at a party last night...I popped it into the oven just as everyone was arriving. Within ten minutes, everyone in the house had opened the oven door to see what was smelling so good. It was gone almost immediately. I followed the directions almost exactly, except I used marinated artichokes and added 1/4 cup of mozzarella. My only "problem" was that no one could taste the shrimp. Next time, and there *will* definately be a next time, I'll use some highly seasoned shrimp that I've steamed myself...see if that will help. I didn't get ONE BITE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This was just ok for me. It wasn't "bad" by any stretch. I served this at a football party, and everyone tasted it, but I noticed everyone went for all the other dips and appetizers when going back for seconds (and thirds), and left this dip alone after one taste. I'm sure using crab instead of shrimp would have helped or maybe a combination, but nothing about it made me or anyone else say "wow I want more." It was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmelina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States