Shrimp Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I make a similar recipe but you mix it all together except cocktail sauce ( no tomato) into a ball. Pour cocktail sauce over it. I use frozen salad shrimp thawed a pound of it. Serve with a knife and crackers add more cocktail sauce as needed. Really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Shrimp dip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I only gave 3 stars because there is so much missing from this recipe. As is- it's like what you would find on the back of the cream cheese box, simple & easy but, if you want to make it special with some depth, taste & color you need to add much more like others have stated. this is what I did: less cocktail sauce (or it's to sweet) to taste horseradish imatation crab meat chopped pimentos dash of white pepper a bit of chopped fresh parsley and you HAVE to add sour cream or your have this really thick cream cheese mess that hard to serve. Then your have a nice appi to serve with crackers and fresh veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this for our family Christmas party and it was a huge hit. I did omit the tomato like some others suggested because of the cocktail sauce. I definitely think I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Kapp Ludlow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Everyone went crazy for this at my New Year's party! It's delicious & very easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This tasted good but was just weird. People liked it once they tried it but the cream cheese and shrimp mixture turned people off. Maybe you shouldn't tell people whats in it so they aren't turned off by it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this for Christmas Day, and we really enjoyed it! I just did the cream cheese mix, cocktail sauce, and frozen, small shrimp and left off the green onions, tomato, and shredded cheese, and I am glad I did, b/c I liked how it came out just fine. I think if I had added those other things, you wouldn't be able to get the shrimp flavor as much. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was a big hit on our Christmas Eve appetizer buffet. I left out the green onions as a personal preference and used a shredded cheddar mix instead of mozzarella because that is what I had on hand and also added chopped crab meat. Served with Ritz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Made this recipe this weekend for a football tailgate. I did change it up a bit, using sour cream in the base along with the cream cheese to make it more "dip" friendly. I used the frozen shrimp as suggested and also removed the tomatoes and the mozz. cheese from the dip. It was great! I would make it again. A word to the wise, my wife thought thre was too much cocktail sauce so perhaps cutting back would be a good suggestion. Wonderful, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Definately a keeper, however found the frozen baby shrimp to be tastier for this recipe instead of the canned. (Less of a fishy taste). Very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States