Shrimp And Onion Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LuciaZoe
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
It was yummy... i used curry instead of turmeric. I added 1 cup of brown rice to the recipe and obviously more water, stirred it often so it wouldn't get stuck. If you add the rice make sure you add enough water. It wont ruin the recipe. I also made some falafel balls to complement it :). Great for a rainy day. I tried it another day adding carrots and potatoes. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuciaZoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rio Piedras, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I loved this recipe. It was so easy. I did make a few tweeks. I used three different onions; shallot, yellow onion, and white onion. I browned this instead of just softening. I also diced up a green bell pepper and threw that in with the garlic. I used a little more tumeric than called for and it was spot on! I think I would go a little lighter on the black pepper though. It was a tiny bit spicer than I would have liked. I served this over brown rice and with a spinach & goat cheese salad. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adabrowski

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Ummmmm I'm sorry but I didn't like this at all.. I know that might sound mean, but there was something way off... Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I LOVED this recipe..I didn't have any tomato paste so i used 1/2 c. crushed tomatoes instead..served it over rice. VERY tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
We lightened up a little on the onions. We were happy the way this turned out and it was a good way to use up some left over shrimp we had in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
I added 1 tsp of curry, a cup of white wine and my left over rice pilaf..it was very tasty. If you like the base, shrimp & onions...work with it..make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
This was a success! My husband, who doesn't particularly like shrimp, asked me to make it again (!) this time with curry powder instead of turmeric. I browned the onions instead of just softening them, which I think gave the whole dish a slightly mellower flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIGNEZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
I love onions and my husband loves shrimp but neither one of us much enjoyed this recipe. I ate one shrimp and that was more than enough for me. The following day I rinsed off the left over shrimp and put them on a salad. Other reviews seemed to like this recipe but I'm sorry to say it is just not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
Make sure you like onions for this one! Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
This was very tasty...I used frozen cooked shrimp and a lot less oil and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States