Shrimp & Scallop Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I did add a small onion and a clove of garlic because it seemed like that was what that the reviewers that liked it the most did. It came out pretty good, but not great. I feel like it was missing some ingredient that could push it over the top to great, but I couldn't figure out what it was. If scallops and shrimp weren't so expensive, I'd make it again and play with the recipe, but being as they are so pricey, I'm going to stick with recipes that I know will turn out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I had some scallops and shrimp and was looking for a good way to cook them. I am watching my weight so I substituted fat free sour cream for the real sour cream. I also sauteed onion and shallots with the mushrooms. I added paprika to give it a kick. We put it over whole wheat pasta and some mushy peas on the side. It was delish. My husband is back in the kitchen polishing it off right now. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rossford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sheffield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very, very tasty. I added garlic and onions to the mushrooms when I satueed them. I made sure to drain the seafood well. I also added one TBS of flour so the sauce was thicker. Fattening, but excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
very bland flavor, my husband and teen sons did not care for this. will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I took the suggestions of other reviews and really thought that I would like this alot. I, however, did not like it. Was it edible and my family said that they had worse, but we all agree that I need to find a better recipe for scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anthony, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This was pretty good. May try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I disagree with the previous reviewer, I LOVED this recipe. LOVED, LOVED, LOVED. The only reason it got four stars is because scallops AND shrimp made this an expensive dish to make (at least for my pocketbook). I had no trouble with the water content or thickening and I really have trouble believing 2 tbs of sherry would thin this dish out as suggested previously. This is a great dish and I definitely will fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I found the water content of this recipe too high, unless you pat dry the mushrooms and the shellfish, the water in them will throw the thickness for a loop. I would add another tbsp of flour or be sure to cook the clam mixture for longer to thicken it quite well. The sherry at the end also thins it out quite a bit. The first bite was very disappointing, but it grew on me as I ate it. I probably would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: New Sarepta, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States