Shredded Potato Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Really, really good!!! Similiar to most recipies, this one is flexible so I used 3 eggs. Because I didn't have freshly cooked salmon (which would have been wonderful), I used 3 cans of Sockeye and used some fresh herbs..also I used lemmon pepper..and that made a big difference. What really grabbed my guests...I served this dish with Mango Salsa!!! Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
We really liked this one. Following another reviewer's suggestion, I used 2 cans of salmon so it was super easy to prepare and I did not have to get anything special from the grocery store. This is a terrific mid-week meal. I do not have italian seasoning so I used oregano, basil, salt and pepper. I also made a spicy mayonnaise dipping sauce by adding cayenne, salt, pepper and some juice from the capers to some mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Delicious! I left the mushrooms out as one suggested and I used a bag of OreIda shredded potatoes - just thawed and mixed in. I did also add a little lemon pepper - very tasty. My two little ones - age 2 and 5 loved them too. They used ketchup to dip, my husband and I liked the suggested dip of Mayo, cayenne, salt, pepper, and juice from jar of capers. Thanks for sharing this one. I just had some leftover grilled salmon I wanted to use for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was a great recipe! However I did change a few things around... Instead of the Italian seasoning I used lemon pepper seasoning. I also left out the capers, banana peppers and mushrooms. Instead I used only red pepper, yellow onion and shredded carrot. Served with a little garlic mayo and steamed broccoli! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Runnemede, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I used canned salmon...wonderfulllllllllll
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
These were absolutely awful. Usually I don't give recipes such a low rating but these weren't even edible. They fell apart no matter what modification I made to them. I fried them as directed, but they turned out entirely too heavy, I then baked them with a little bit of oil- and they were awful. The only thing I can think to do is cook the potatoes before hand to make the cakes a little squishier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Fantastic! These were exceptional. I omitted the mushrooms and banana peppers, added two minced shallots, and used two cans of sockeye salmon instead of fresh. Served it with a mixture of mayonnaise, paprika, mango chutney and chipotle pepper. Placed on a bed of mixed field greens, this would be easily served in a high class restaurant! Well deserved of the five out of five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Mayo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Excellent salmon recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroleena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Left out Italian seasoning, mushrooms, and banana peppers. Used dill to season instead. A little taste of last summer with frozen salmon and garden potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaskamojo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Very yummy! I left the mushrooms out, feeling that might add more moisture to the mix. I think I might bake them next time too or do them in the omlette maker...I am not used to cooking in oil anymore and found that made it a little heavy. However, that said, the flavour was just delicious and I was ecstatic to find the recipe for us people who are too slack to boil the potatoes first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States