Shredded Potato Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I served this quiche last night when a few friends showed up for dinner unannounced. I had baked the quiche the night before since I was planning on getting home late from work and not having time to cook dinner. After about 2 minutes in the microwave it was ready to serve and got rave reviews from both my husband and our friends, who wanted the recipe. Instead of using ham I substituted bacon and added chopped red pepper, green pepper, onion, and mushrooms. I did not have any packaged frozen hash browns, so I shredded two potatoes in my food processor. Like most of the reviewers I had trouble getting the potatoes to brown. I think next time I will cook the hash browns in a skillet with a little bit of oil as I would any hash browns, and then transfer to the pan to top with ingredients and bake so that they have the crunch that I love in hash browns. This is a very versatile recipe I look forward to experimenting with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden Beach, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Southport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
This was so good! I loved the hashbrown crust! My daughter said it tasted like cheesy french fries. I used cheddar cheese and bacon, instead of swiss and ham. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I was really expecting to like this considering I like all of the ingredients, and most of the reviews were good. However, I didn't really care for it. I couldn't even taste the hashbrowns. They were a little crispy, because I took the previous advice and baked it for about 40 min before adding the filling. I would've given it a 2, but I DID go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FREAKITIKI97

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
Tastes good and good for those with wheat allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
The first quiche I've ever made and it turned out "good" in my husband's words - who is THE chef in the family. I melted the butter first in the oven, added a chopped onion to that, pressed the thawed potatoes and baked for 25 minutes, then added the egg mixture. Baked for 30 more minutes. Let it cool for about 10 minutes befor cutting. Wonderful brunch idea. Thank you....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
This was very good and quite easy for a dinner in a hurry. It needed some extra seasoning though. Some zip. I'll have fun toying around with it util then. I would happily recommend it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Okay, so now I will never again use a pastry crust for quiche!! Which is good, because I'm sensitive to wheat and this is SO much easier. Don't worry about crisping the bottom, it probably won't happen even if you bake it longer (which I did) and it doesn't matter. An EXCELLENT way to make the filling is with diced pepperoni and cheddar (instead of the ham and swiss) with the additions of green pepper, onion, and some tomato if you wish. If you're worried about leakage through the crust, put a few slices on Buddig meat (ham, turkey, whatever) to coat the bottom before adding filling. This went over BIG at Christmas brunch. I'm telling you, you've got to try the pepperoni and cheddar combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I like the concept, however, the potato's didn't crisp on the bottom as much as I hoped it would. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
I made this with grated, leftover baked potatoes. Sprayed the dish with Pam, then sprayed the grated potatoes with spray Parkay and sprinkled on some seasoning salt. I added some broccoli and added some canned french fried onion rings to the top. It was truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
This recipe was so good that I made it for dinner two nights in a row! I took the advice that someone had posted earlier and pressed the potatoes between paper towels to get rid of excess moisture- that makes the potatoes nice and crispy! This is a great recipe, especially for people who don't really like pastry crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States