Shredded Potato Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I thought this was pretty good. I loved how quick it was to throw together. I made a couple of subs, for what I had on hand. I used Simply Potatoes southwestern blend shredded potatoes. If making this, I recommend a more flavored potato. This casserole is about half potatoes. I also subbed the ham with turkey breakfast sausage I made the other day from the site. Lastly, I didn't have swiss cheese. I had a shredded cheddar blend with cream cheese. So, I went with that. I used the same proportion of everything, except the cheese I only had a little over a cup. I thought the calories seemed high, but then realized it only showed the recipe as 4 servings. A 9x9 pan can easily be cut into 8 regular servings. I baked the hash browns for 25 minutes. There was only slight browning on the edges at that point. So, maybe an additional 5 minutes would have been good for a more crisp consistency. I had this problem with similar layered hash brown casseroles calling for pre-baking them. It always takes longer than suggested to crisp up. Once I added the eggs, it took 25 more minutes for them to set up. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Yum. Put very little cheddar cheese with potatoes. Helps brown potato crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I used 3 raw potatoes and shredded them added some shredded red onio sea salt/peper and 2 T of flour to potato mixture patted on bottom of pie plate and drizzled with olive oil and baked 20 minutes at 400. Then I put one can of artichoke hearts halved on the bottom and them 10 diced greek olives over chokes and then poured egg mixture over and placed sliced tomotoes on top with feta cheese. Divine! Bake another 20 minutes at 375. I did add some garlic powder to egg mixture and 1 t. itailan seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Photo by CookinginSnowflake
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I liked this recipe- But I took some liberty with this one (Who can mess up quiche?) and I used a half package of Chorizo and cooked that up in a skillet with some white onion and added it to the potato before I added the ham and eggs. I topped with a 1/2 cup of Manchego cheese. It was a great Christmas morning breakfast for us. I gave it 4 stars and really enjoyed it - but I think I will have to be more discerning with my 5 stars for future reference. DH really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginSnowflake

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Pretty tasty, I just added vegetables that I wanted in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Very tasty! I used reduced fat cheddar instead of swiss, and I melted the butter in the dish while the oven was preheating and stirred the shredded potatoes into the butter, but I accidentally put in a whole stick of butter instead of a half. It was delicious! I'll try it again with the proper amount of butter, but if it doesn't stack up, I'm going back to a whole stick because it was really fabulous :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Made this for breakfast today. I used leftover hash browns, so there was no issue with them getting brown as others had. Diced some leftover ham, added a bit of onion and a small red pepper. Put about half the cheese in with the egg mixture and the other half on top. Turned out wonderful with a small piece leftover for lunch tomorrow. Could easily make this for dinner with a mixed green salad. Thanks for posting, Susan Spickelmier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I doubled this recipe because I had several people to feed. I used a 9x13 inch casserole dish. I used fresh potatoes and grated them into the bottom of the dish, tossed them with a little garlic salt, pepper and a couple cloves of minced garlic. Baked according to the directions and proceeded with the rest of the recipe. I did use bacon instead of ham, mozzarella instead of swiss, added goat cheese, chopped zucchini, chopped yellow squash and pepper flakes. Since I used a larger container to cook it, it took longer to bake, 40 minutes later, we had a delicious dinner! Thank you! I was looking for something that used potato instead of pie crust. This was spot on! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I wasn't wild about this, though the two eating with me liked it. Meh. (If you're someone whose favorite part of the quiche is the crust, then no matter how much you love hash browns, this will probably be a letdown.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I used sausage and it was great. I browned the hash browns in the oven Christmas Eve and browned the sausage. Christmas morning, I just threw it all together and cooked it in the oven for 20 minutes. everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red_Hott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States