Shredded Potato Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I've been making this recipe for several years now. My husband likes it better than a traditional pie crust quiche. The only difference in the way I prepare it is to press the thawed hash browns between sheets of paper towel pressing as much moisture out as possible. Then after putting in the pan and brushing with butter, it gets baked at 425 for 25 minutes. That makes a well browned crust instead of damp and mushy. Make the egg and milk mixture adding any combination of meats, chopped vegetables and cheese. Be sure to test the center of the quiche for doneness before removing from oven (a knife inserted in middle comes out clean). A great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I have made this recipe several times with some changes. I shred potatoes instead of using frozen. After browning the potatoes in the oven, I layer some shredded cheese and sliced ham to keep the egg from baking through the potatoes. I also put the cheese on top instead of mixing with the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This is a great dish! I made it to take to work when we were sampling different quiche recipes and everyone loved it. I reduced the amount of butter to 1 Tbsp. instead of 1/4 cup. I made another one for my friends to taste and they loved it to. Great recipe Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Okay, so now I will never again use a pastry crust for quiche!! Which is good, because I'm sensitive to wheat and this is SO much easier. Don't worry about crisping the bottom, it probably won't happen even if you bake it longer (which I did) and it doesn't matter. An EXCELLENT way to make the filling is with diced pepperoni and cheddar (instead of the ham and swiss) with the additions of green pepper, onion, and some tomato if you wish. If you're worried about leakage through the crust, put a few slices on Buddig meat (ham, turkey, whatever) to coat the bottom before adding filling. This went over BIG at Christmas brunch. I'm telling you, you've got to try the pepperoni and cheddar combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
A very good recipe yet a little bland. I will be making this again but adding a few extra ingredients to give it some extra kick. I followed one of the reviewers advice and patted my thawed hash browns in paper towels and brushed with melted butter, the crust crisped up nicely. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I served this quiche last night when a few friends showed up for dinner unannounced. I had baked the quiche the night before since I was planning on getting home late from work and not having time to cook dinner. After about 2 minutes in the microwave it was ready to serve and got rave reviews from both my husband and our friends, who wanted the recipe. Instead of using ham I substituted bacon and added chopped red pepper, green pepper, onion, and mushrooms. I did not have any packaged frozen hash browns, so I shredded two potatoes in my food processor. Like most of the reviewers I had trouble getting the potatoes to brown. I think next time I will cook the hash browns in a skillet with a little bit of oil as I would any hash browns, and then transfer to the pan to top with ingredients and bake so that they have the crunch that I love in hash browns. This is a very versatile recipe I look forward to experimenting with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden Beach, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Southport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This was excellent. I made several changes. I did not thaw the potato before pressing into the pie pan and I baked it at 400 degrees for roughly 20 minutes before adding the filling. I used spinach, sauted mushrooms and onions, and grandulated garlic in place of ham and I used sharp cheddar and two slices of white american for the cheese. I also used just 4 eggs and half and half instead of milk (that's what I had). After baking for 20 minutes at 400 degrees the crust was brown and crispy and everyone loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
The first quiche I've ever made and it turned out "good" in my husband's words - who is THE chef in the family. I melted the butter first in the oven, added a chopped onion to that, pressed the thawed potatoes and baked for 25 minutes, then added the egg mixture. Baked for 30 more minutes. Let it cool for about 10 minutes befor cutting. Wonderful brunch idea. Thank you....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
I loved this recipe. I did not use all the butter that it called for, actually I used the spray marg. to cut down on calories. I bought sliced swiss and layed it on the bottom of the potatoes then chopped frozen and squeezed dried spinach then poured the eggs on top and then added more cheese. I used 3 whole eggs and 2 whites and the milk was a can of evaporated skim milk. It was lower in calories but fabulous. I will make this again and in muffin tins for brunch with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
Easy and fast for dinner. My kids ate it without complaints, though my 4 year old picked out the ham pieces first. I didn't really get the potato crust brown until it was baking with the filling. Maybe a few minutes under the broiler before filling? I am making again on Saturday for a sorority brunch. I think it will be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslee Haylett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States