Shredded Potato Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This recipe tasted great once it was finished. However I did have a hard time getting the hash browns to turn. When I finally added the rest of the ingredients the bottom tasted more like mashed potatoes than hash brown, but it was still good. I did add spinach on the top wich I thought made the dish great. This is a great recipe though, next time I will plan on more time for baking the potatoe crust! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CForest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverbank, California, USA
Living In: Ceres, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Thank you for this wonderful recipe. The hubby just loved it. I used very aged swiss, added bacon and green onion. Nummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Belcher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This was excellent. I made several changes. I did not thaw the potato before pressing into the pie pan and I baked it at 400 degrees for roughly 20 minutes before adding the filling. I used spinach, sauted mushrooms and onions, and grandulated garlic in place of ham and I used sharp cheddar and two slices of white american for the cheese. I also used just 4 eggs and half and half instead of milk (that's what I had). After baking for 20 minutes at 400 degrees the crust was brown and crispy and everyone loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Great recipe and so easy! I used it for a baby shower and everyone loved it. I can't wait to make it for my family and play around with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Followed recipe, with exception of adding two more eggs and a little more milk (large pie dish). Recipe was just so-so, my family and I were not impressed. The potatoes were a nice touch but were very soft and almost invisible. The flavor was bland - even added in some omlette seasoning and it still didn't perk up. Quite a disappointment, despite the previous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
too many potatoes for a 9 inch pan, too many eggs. not very tasty - I cooked about 45 min and it still wasnt completely set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLE33
Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I served this quiche last night when a few friends showed up for dinner unannounced. I had baked the quiche the night before since I was planning on getting home late from work and not having time to cook dinner. After about 2 minutes in the microwave it was ready to serve and got rave reviews from both my husband and our friends, who wanted the recipe. Instead of using ham I substituted bacon and added chopped red pepper, green pepper, onion, and mushrooms. I did not have any packaged frozen hash browns, so I shredded two potatoes in my food processor. Like most of the reviewers I had trouble getting the potatoes to brown. I think next time I will cook the hash browns in a skillet with a little bit of oil as I would any hash browns, and then transfer to the pan to top with ingredients and bake so that they have the crunch that I love in hash browns. This is a very versatile recipe I look forward to experimenting with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden Beach, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Southport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
This was so good! I loved the hashbrown crust! My daughter said it tasted like cheesy french fries. I used cheddar cheese and bacon, instead of swiss and ham. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I was really expecting to like this considering I like all of the ingredients, and most of the reviews were good. However, I didn't really care for it. I couldn't even taste the hashbrowns. They were a little crispy, because I took the previous advice and baked it for about 40 min before adding the filling. I would've given it a 2, but I DID go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
Tastes good and good for those with wheat allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States