Shredded Potato Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I used about 4-5 cups frozen shredded potato mixed with 1/4 c canola oil, salt and pepper. Baked that in 425 oven for 20 min. For the filling I added bacon, diced onion, corn, and peas, and decreased the cheese to 1/2 cup of mozarella. Baked that in 375 oven for 25 min (at 20 min it wasn't done yet). I really liked how the potato browned on the bottom of the pie plate and the edges were crunchy. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I enjoyed this. Be sure to cook the potatoes until they START to brown before adding the egg mixture. Add vegetables if you like. It is really wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This was alright. A little too much potato for me. That's pretty much all I could taste. I was hoping the crust would've been crispier, but it was pretty mushy. I patted dry the thawed potatoes as others suggested, and baked for at least 15 minutes before adding the egg mixture. I also had to bake the egg mixture longer than the instructions stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Needs a vegetable for sure. I would try spinach. I added onions as well, but be sure to finely mince the onions. I added the recipe amount of ham (good quality too), but it wasn't enough flavor. I would suggest adding bacon to it, for a crunch!. Also, I would recommend browning the hash brown before adding the remainder of the mix. I would probably do it to a medium-brown to add crunch in the crust, otherwise it will be the same texture as the mixture. Other than that, I needed more salt to enhance the flavor. Will retry with the adds to see how well this goes. Five star for a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Nguyen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Perfect! Just perfect. I microwaved 3 russets, let them cool in the fridg overnight, then thick shredded them as the crust. I could not believe how easily and pretty the quiche sliced. This will be a lifetime brunch standby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I make this same dish, but also add pepper jack cheese for a kick...try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is a GREAT recipe! I made it for a meeting I was hosting at my work. Because we have a vegetarian employee, I just used red, yellow and green peppers, onions and green chilies along with tons of cheese. I took other peoples' advice and layered slices of (meunster) cheese on top of the cooked hash browns. Then I used 2 cups of shredded sharp cheddar for the inside. It was so easy! I did it the night before and it warmed up in 4 minutes the next morning in the microwave. I should say, I didn't get to try it because everyone else ate all of it. But I had a few people ask me for the recipe and everyone said it was soooo good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This was amazingly easy and fast! My boyfriends 6-year old son loved it - he even had seconds which he never does. I will definitely be making this a regulary in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
this is the greatest, easy and so delic..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vardaman, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
tasty! We just changed a few veggies/meats around... although, the swiss cheese didn't go over that well, the family probably would have like cheddar or gouda better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meatless Mama
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States