Shredded Potato Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dudemeister
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I gave it 5 stars just for the hash brown crust idea. Never thought of that before! I added some chopped red onion and sliced fresh mushrooms, used cheddar instead of mozzarella, and added some chopped hot peppers (Serrano, habanero, datil and thai chiles)to give it some zing. it really makes the crust like crunchy hashbrowns if you use a stoneware pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dudemeister

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Very good base recipe. Great gluten free idea for an alternative to a regular crust. I used shredded left over baked potatoes instead of frozen hash browns and olive oil instead of butter. Cooking time for the "crust" was 18 minutes. The amount of milk requested seemed too much so I used 1/8 cup. I made two of these. One with the ingredients above and the other using fresh spinach instead of ham and adding some parmigiano reggiano cheese. The original was a bit bland. Maybe Swiss cheese is too mild. Thank you for this recipe. I will definitely use this as a base for more recipes in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I thought this was pretty good. I loved how quick it was to throw together. I made a couple of subs, for what I had on hand. I used Simply Potatoes southwestern blend shredded potatoes. If making this, I recommend a more flavored potato. This casserole is about half potatoes. I also subbed the ham with turkey breakfast sausage I made the other day from the site. Lastly, I didn't have swiss cheese. I had a shredded cheddar blend with cream cheese. So, I went with that. I used the same proportion of everything, except the cheese I only had a little over a cup. I thought the calories seemed high, but then realized it only showed the recipe as 4 servings. A 9x9 pan can easily be cut into 8 regular servings. I baked the hash browns for 25 minutes. There was only slight browning on the edges at that point. So, maybe an additional 5 minutes would have been good for a more crisp consistency. I had this problem with similar layered hash brown casseroles calling for pre-baking them. It always takes longer than suggested to crisp up. Once I added the eggs, it took 25 more minutes for them to set up. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Yum. Put very little cheddar cheese with potatoes. Helps brown potato crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I used 3 raw potatoes and shredded them added some shredded red onio sea salt/peper and 2 T of flour to potato mixture patted on bottom of pie plate and drizzled with olive oil and baked 20 minutes at 400. Then I put one can of artichoke hearts halved on the bottom and them 10 diced greek olives over chokes and then poured egg mixture over and placed sliced tomotoes on top with feta cheese. Divine! Bake another 20 minutes at 375. I did add some garlic powder to egg mixture and 1 t. itailan seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Photo by CookinginSnowflake
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I liked this recipe- But I took some liberty with this one (Who can mess up quiche?) and I used a half package of Chorizo and cooked that up in a skillet with some white onion and added it to the potato before I added the ham and eggs. I topped with a 1/2 cup of Manchego cheese. It was a great Christmas morning breakfast for us. I gave it 4 stars and really enjoyed it - but I think I will have to be more discerning with my 5 stars for future reference. DH really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginSnowflake

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Pretty tasty, I just added vegetables that I wanted in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Very tasty! I used reduced fat cheddar instead of swiss, and I melted the butter in the dish while the oven was preheating and stirred the shredded potatoes into the butter, but I accidentally put in a whole stick of butter instead of a half. It was delicious! I'll try it again with the proper amount of butter, but if it doesn't stack up, I'm going back to a whole stick because it was really fabulous :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Phelps

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Made this for breakfast today. I used leftover hash browns, so there was no issue with them getting brown as others had. Diced some leftover ham, added a bit of onion and a small red pepper. Put about half the cheese in with the egg mixture and the other half on top. Turned out wonderful with a small piece leftover for lunch tomorrow. Could easily make this for dinner with a mixed green salad. Thanks for posting, Susan Spickelmier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I doubled this recipe because I had several people to feed. I used a 9x13 inch casserole dish. I used fresh potatoes and grated them into the bottom of the dish, tossed them with a little garlic salt, pepper and a couple cloves of minced garlic. Baked according to the directions and proceeded with the rest of the recipe. I did use bacon instead of ham, mozzarella instead of swiss, added goat cheese, chopped zucchini, chopped yellow squash and pepper flakes. Since I used a larger container to cook it, it took longer to bake, 40 minutes later, we had a delicious dinner! Thank you! I was looking for something that used potato instead of pie crust. This was spot on! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States