Shredded Chicken Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
We really enjoyed these tacos. I live in Canada and can't get Goya products, I just used the ingredients listed except for the adobo. I made it in the crockpot, I chopped 1/2 an onion and put that on the bottom, I removed the chicken skin then place the chicken on the onion, mixed the sauce ingredients together then poured over the chicken. I cooked on low for 6 hours, removed the chicken, deboned the chicken, strained the sauce then added the chicken back in. Didn't find it as spicy as we liked so I added some red pepper flakes and a squirt of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by QHHUNTERS
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
These were really good. I made them for a club meeting and they were a hit. The chicken was really flavorful. We didn't even top with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
These tacos were fantastic! I changed up the cooking method, but used all of the ingredients called for. First I put 2 frozen chicken breasts in my slow cooker then added the rest of the ingredients. Turned on low and 7 hours later the chicken was fully cooked and ready to shred and mix in with the delicious sauce. We used both corn and flour tortillas- both were great! I even used the leftover chicken for to make an enchilada casserole-yum! Will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Delicious! These were so easy to make and perfect for a quick meal. Like others, I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts. Since I didn't have corn tortillas I opted to use flour tortillas for a wrap and added some shredded cheese, diced tomato, and lettuce with some sour cream on the side. I served this with Spanish rice - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I made this for a "whatever" night for myself. My husband, who doesn't normally like this type of dish, ended up stealing some of it. I did have to make an alteration because I bought the wrong thing. I didn't think the tomato puree I did buy would taste right so I used the Rotelle I did have. I was told to add this to our rotation and to try it with beef. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Yummy! Best Chicken Tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I've made this recipe twice so far and everyone has LOVED it! I made a couple of changes according to what I had on hand. I used "Traci's Adobo Seasoning" recipe found on this site and also substituted hatch chili powder instead of ancho. I used a little over a pound of boneless chicken instead of bone in. Tried it once with breast meat and once with thigh. We preferred the thigh meat only by a little. I did simmer the chicken in the sauce for a while and spooned out a couple of tablespoons of the sauce to add to some refried beans along with a couple of shakes of adobo seasoning. Family gobbled up the cheap canned refried beans as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Absoluuuutly amazing!! The husband loved them as well! I did use boneless skinless chicken though because thats what I had on hand. it was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I think the flavors are fantastic. I have made this several times and with the leftovers I make chicken quesadilla's on the grill. Always a hit at my house. I only stray from the recipe in that I don't use Goya brand ingredients and use my own home made adobo spice from a recipe I found on the web.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This wasn't really that great. I think one of the issues is that you really want your chicken slow-cooked for your tacos and this recipe just doesn't do it. Another problem is that it's very tomato-y, in a way that I wasn't expecting--it's almost Italian in its flavor. Weird. While cooking, I was hoping there would be a transformation in the taste as I simmered the sauce, but I was pretty disappointed in the result. I tried simmering for a longer time, hoping for more caramelization and sampling the whole time, but it never got there. The final tacos were saved by the other ingredients and salsa I whipped up, but I wouldn't repeat this recipe. I'll definitely try again on chicken tacos, but I don't think this recipe is worth tweaking to make it work out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Guerra
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Firehouse Chicken and Steak Tacos

See how they make chicken and steak tacos down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States