Shredded Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I also got a "don't bother" and several turned up noses from my family when I said I was making this dish for Thanksgiving. Everyone loved it, including a picky sister and my even pickier two year old. Since then we have served it at 3 dinner parties. The people that try just a spoon to be polite always go for seconds. We end up sending the recipe home with everyone. Contrary to what some say, I think it is great the next day. My advice is to cook the bacon and do the shredding ahead of time. Then it's much easier to throw together at dinner time. Even if you're skeptical, try it! You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
Really good. Not a fan of shredding them since it looks sloppy & overcooks easily that way, so I quartered/halved them. Turned out to be very tasty. I even used pre-crumbled, pre-drained bacon, so it was less greasy/fattening, but just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This recipe is definitely 5 stars! Helpful Hint: Try soaking these lovely little veggies in salt water for an hour or so prior to shredding them. The salt water helps dispel the bitterness! This recipe was so, very, very tasty! Didn't change a thing and the recipe didn't need it. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This is a very good recipe, but as written, it could use a couple of adjustments. The butter content could be halved, as the dish is a little too rich/greasy. Also, I'd recommend the cooking time be reduced to about 7 minutes. The finely shredded brussel sprouts come out much nicer if there is still a little bite in them--there's no risk of mush that way. I substituted turkey bacon for regular bacon. It was a big hit at my Thanksgiving dinner. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Halved recipe. Used 3 slices pre-cooked bacon, 1 tsp. butter (for flavor) & 2-3 Tbsp. olive oil (since didn't have much bacon grease). Subbed pecans for pine nuts. Did not core, just trimmed ends before shredding. I like the flavor of roasted sprouts, so after cooking in a skillet, I finished cooking by roasting sprouts on a cookie sheet (400 degrees-15 min.) to give that "nutty" flavor. Everyone really enjoyed & will be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
I didn't find this recipes time intensive at all. I used my food processor to shred the sprouts and it worked great. Once the bacon was cooked, it went very quickly. Excellent recipe!!! Rave reviews and request for recipe by all!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
*****If you even like brussel sprouts, you will Love this dish. I'm so glad I decided to make this at the last minute last night to go with my full blown turkey dinner. I doubled the recipe as another reviewer suggested for leftovers since I love brussels, and i left out pine nuts because no one but me in my family of 5 likes nuts at all and do not feel like we missed a thing. This is awesome!! 3lbs of spouts seems like a lot at first but they do cook down and you will want some the next day. As I am typing this, I'm having a bowl and it's only 9:25AM!!! Yes, it's that good! oh, and use your cuisinart or whatever you have to shred them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This is the recipe that finally got me to eat brussel sprouts AND like them. Instead of shredding (like cabbages for cole slaw), I peel and separate each leaf from the "head" (like pulling petals off from a flower) and saute until wilted and not mushy. I think it looks nicer this way. I also like to add some thin slices of garlic to the oil for extra flavor, and so those who don't care to eat the actual garlic can pick them out easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Very yummy! Didn't shred the sprouts, quartered instead... the bacon added a great flavor, and we loved it. Thanks for the recipe-- will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I've never made brussels sprouts before, but this recipe was totally easy and yummy! I did skip adding the pine nuts(as they are not my fave), and only cut the sprouts in halves. Also, I added bread crumbs to the topping of bacon. I served this dish for Thanksgiving, and EVERYONE LOVED 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Rocker!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwin Park, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States