Shredded Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I've never had brussel sprouts before and wanted to try them. I was not disappointed - this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I actually left out the nuts.. I used sweet onions and bacon, It was soo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeghan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Delicious. This is a MAJOR crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was flavorful and colorful but there was way too much pine nuts – half the amount would have been more than adequate. We found ourselves dancing around them with our fork, and that disappointed me because pine nuts aren’t cheap. I felt it was an unnecessary waste of an expensive ingredient. I added garlic just because, and I quartered rather than shredded the Brussels sprouts because it would be a shame to shred them and totally get rid of their cuteness. Other than my disappointment with the pine nut overkill, Hubs and I both enjoyed this. Just be careful not to overcook these – that could change everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I made this once for Christmas Eve dinner and every year it is requested. A little labor intensive (it takes forever to core and shred sprouts) but worth it in the end. I have also substituted slivered almonds for the pine nuts. You can make it ahead of time and reheat in the oven, just don't add bacon until the end and saute the sprouts for less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I've been making this recipe for 4 years now, and I haven't changed a thing from the way it's written. A great recipe that's been asked for by others several times! Everyone who has ate it, loves it - even those who don't like Brussels Sprouts! A couple years ago I found that lightly chopping the sprouts in a food processor really saves some time - I would spend a great deal of time chopping the sprouts before - so that might be the only thing I'd add to this recipe as a helpful hint. Oh, and you need a big pan (a big soup pan, preferably) - the sprouts will wilt down, but when first added, they take up a lot of room.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Wonderful way to cook brussels sprouts. I did halve the amount of pine nuts because they seem to overpower the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisa Cahill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
YUM-O! The only change I made was I quartered them instead of shredding. Will be added to my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was FANTASTIC! I made it for Christmas Eve dinner and my family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannonP1382

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Very good recipe. I cored the brussels sprouts and quartered them, they naturally shred themselves. In the future I may had a few dashes of balsamic vinegar in the final stages of cooking for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States