Shredded Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I have had this dish since I was a child except instead of using Brussels sprouts, my grandmother and mother used fresh spring lettuce right out of the garden, plus fresh spring onions, green tops and all. We knew it as " Wilted Lettuce". I make it for my family still, the only difference is I don't have a garden. Thank goodness I can find the lettuce and spring onions in my local grocery store almost year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
To avoid a possible ambulance ride after eating this, substitute the regular bacon with turkey bacon and the butter with canola oil and butter granlues or enjoy the ride!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Excellent recipe exactly as is. If you try cutting the butter and/or bacon grease, you WILL lose out on much of the wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justa Vets Wife
Living In: Berryville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I made a vegetarian version of this recipe, using Morningstar Farms soy "sausage" patties in place of the bacon, and chestnuts in place of the pine nuts. I also cut the amount of brussels sprouts in half and used an equal amount of cauliflower instead. Absolutely scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I omitted the bacon and used Olive Oil and just 1 small pat of butter, and also added julienne carrots (add the carrots to the skillet about a minute before the sprouts) and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Iowa, USA
Living In: Adel, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Shredded them in the food processor, otherwise followed exactly and PERFECT. If you think you don't like brussels sprouts try this recipe. You'll change your mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I skipped the pine nuts and it was fantastic to me and acceptable to my non-brussel-sprout-loving family :) Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Delicious!!! We didn't have pine nuts or green onions but it was still absolutely amazing. And really simple to make! I thought it would be more difficult but it really wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laylasmommy88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I used Chicken Itallian Sausage instead of bacon. I used my food processor's thinnest slicing blad to shred the brussel sprouts. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I cooked this dish for my husbabd, knowing he would turn his nose up at eating "brussel sprouts.". I couldn't have been more surprised when he went back for seconds and told me I could cook this "anytime!" it really is extremely tasty and will appear as a regular dish on our table. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States