Shredded Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I have a shortcut, when I make Bacon I save some bacon grease in a jar in the refrigerator and it stays good for months. I start with a Tablespoons or two of the bacon grease in the skillet, and just a tablespoon of butter. I'll add whatever nuts I have on hand, last night I used slivered almonds which were great. I'll skip the green onions if I don't have any. I'll add another tablespoon of butter as needed if the brussel sprouts start browning. Lastly, I add about 1/4 cup of pre-packaged Bacon Pieces when I take the skillet off the heat. This dish is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Really Really Really good when served right away! I kept the sprouts whole but next time I'd quarter or half them. The pine nuts would incorporate into the dish better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I made this recipe several years ago for a family Thanksgiving. My family loved them. My niece who is now 13 (she was probably 7 or 8 at the time and didn't eat them, much less anything else) now loves them when her Dad makes them for her. Thanks to me for cooking out of the ordinary food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
We left out the bacon grease because we have leftover bacon and replaced the green onion with a little finely diced onion and it was fab! This was the first time my kids tried brussel sprouts and one declared hem their favorite veggie and the other said it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I love brussels sprouts, hubby not so much, this was a hit! Thanks, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rollyne Klem

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Here's what I did differently. Our family loves brussels sprouts, so it wasn't a hard transition for us. I quartered them, cooked the bacon and drained all the grease except 1/2 tbsp and only put in about 2 pats of butter. I halved the amount of pine nuts, added a bit of minced garlic (maybe about a tsp or so), then added the sprouts, cooked for about 8 minutes total topped with the crumbled bacon and freshly grated parm. It was exceptional. This is a good base recipe that you can change to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Previously have tried brussel sprouts twice and have hated them! Could barely swallow one. This recipe sure changed my opinion. I loved these and so did my husband. I will definitely being making this recipe over and over. I made it exactly as recipe called for. I didn't know how to shred so I used a sharp knife and sliced very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Love this recipe. I used to be among those who hated brussels sprouts, but this recipe has made a believer out of me. Shredding the sprouts very thin with a good, sharp knife and getting the pine nuts a bit toasty made the recipe. My husband keeps asking me to make it again! Another plus is the short ingredient list of things I usually have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Excellent recipe for sprouts! My family loved it. I didn't have pine nuts, so I just made it without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Excellent change of pace. Recipe as written is excellent. Have also modified it to fit available ingredients and pretty much any type of nut is delicious (pecans are especially nice substitute for pine nuts). Reduced the amount of bacon and butter by half (to reduce calories) and flavor is still exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States