Shredded Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
i don't like sprouts. I can count on 1 hand how many times I've eaten sprouts in the last (ahem) years, and have fingers left over. I loved these. I only made a pound, and I added garlic, but I ate them all. Every. Single. Bite. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I made this last year as our veggie side dish for Christmas dinner. I was tired of the typical green bean casserole and wanted a dish that wasn't the same "mushy" texture as everything else on the table (stuffing, mashed potatoes, cranberry sauce, etc.). I knew it was a risk because brussel sprouts are not popular in my family, but this sounded unique. It was a HUGE hit! My now 12 and 9 year old sons have specifically requested that I make it again this year, and they have asked for it several times during this past year. The only changes I made were quartering the sprouts instead of shredding them and I used slivered almonds instead of pine nuts due to the expense. HUGE, HUGE hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri May Stocke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
OMG! This is the best recipe I have ever gotten off of this site!! We will be adding this in to our families regular rotation. All 3 children loved this, even my youngest who hates green veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Made this for Thanksgiving the last two years and the serving bowl was empty when dinner was over. Most of the folks wanted the recipe. When I make it at home it gets eaten in a hurry. Want to know what to do with the left overs - make an omelet. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I get rave review from guests every time I make this dish. For a healthier option, I sometimes use olive oil and skip the bacon part. Also, some grocery stores now have bagged pre shredded Brussels...makes the prep work a breeze!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I made this last year for thanksgiving and everyone loved it. No left overs. I did exactly what the recipe said and turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I think part of the problem on my end was too much bacon and not enough sprouts. Not tasty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Fantastic! I followed the suggestions to just quarter rather than shred the sprouts and used scallions (only 2 T) because I had no green onions. I have always been a fan of brussel sprouts and love these more than any other receipe I have tried since they got "trendy." Ate way more than my allotted portion,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I have a shortcut, when I make Bacon I save some bacon grease in a jar in the refrigerator and it stays good for months. I start with a Tablespoons or two of the bacon grease in the skillet, and just a tablespoon of butter. I'll add whatever nuts I have on hand, last night I used slivered almonds which were great. I'll skip the green onions if I don't have any. I'll add another tablespoon of butter as needed if the brussel sprouts start browning. Lastly, I add about 1/4 cup of pre-packaged Bacon Pieces when I take the skillet off the heat. This dish is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States